We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Chain Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Frimley
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Chain Hotel”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The hotel was easy to find on a large retail park. The free parking was ample. Staff were very friendly and helpful. My room was clean and comfortable. The hotel was very well heated. Breakfast was good although they needed prompting to top up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 250Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear 250Sharon

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us. I hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    318
    132
    35
    10
See reviews for
117
211
27
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsash
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Situated near a vast shopping area and close to a Premier Inn. The hotel was superior to a Premier Inn and far better priced. The set evening meal was well priced but dearer if you chose a la carte. There is a Beefeater, Pizza Hut and Harvester close within 200yds. Staff were excellent. Good breakfast. Sainsburys were in sight. There is a narrow boat marina nearby as is Nottingham University. Tip - the car park entrance is approached from the rear of the hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cashalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Cashalot

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us. I hope we will get the chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Apologies for any confusion with the car park but the entrance is at the front of the hotel and the exit at the rear.

Kind regards
Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Holiday Inn is situated in an identikit retail park with every shop that you find in every other retail park in every other town. However I managed to get a buy one get one free room deal and had never stayed in a Holiday Inn before so I was looking forward to trying a new chain hotel.
The parking is easy and close to the entrance so it's not too far to carry bags to the reception. It's quite a smart area with computer access and a restaurant at the back and plenty of seating for guests waiting for... well any reason. The receptionist was friendly and helpful but the policy of charging £50 deposit to my card is quite alarming... Travelodge, Premier Inn and most places just use the card you pay with if you damage anything but this place insisted on charging my card now even though I was tired and my hands were full.
The room was nice and airy with clean decor and nothing that appeared worn or tired. Apart from that its Premier Inn without the purple colour theme and more expensive. You don't even get Twinings Tea :-( I'm sorry but Tetley in a Holiday Inn is just not good enough... That may sound picky but it kind of cheapens the hot drink offer.
Apart from that the bed was lovely and I slept well but the TV only had 2 channel offerings, which wasn't a big deal as I was out all day, but there is a thing called Freeview?
The shower was pretty poor as well... basically its a cheap gravity one with no power to it at all and the water came out of the tap so slow that a bath was out of the question. So much for a nice holiday wake up!
Apart from that the hotel is a short walk from the Castle and City centre and there is plenty of food offerings in the area from McDonalds to Costa and Harvester. Holiday Inn charge over £10 for all you can eat breakfast!!! Seriously? If the tea on offer is Tetley then that is really expensive. A little tip is to use the Beefeater (Premier Inn) next door at £7.95 for a really tasty cooked breakfast along with continental offerings (Including Twinings tea :-)!).
Also on that note the dinner menu is overpriced at around £15-20 for a main course. Head into town and you'll be spoilt for choice!

Holiday Inn is nice and fresh but considering the usual night rate is higher than other nearby hotels and the room is the same with no unique or local features I would only come here again on a special room rate. Just because your a clone hotel doesn't mean you can't have some local artists work in the rooms. Also watch out for the food prices... there is plenty on offer in the surrounding pubs/restaurants so avoid paying around £15-20 just for one meal here.

Room Tip: Second floor facing the main road and we had a view of the castle on the far right hand side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Cashalot

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us.

I am sorry you did not take the opportunity to sample our excellent breakfast experience, I do not think you would have been disappointed.

I hope that if you stay with us again you will be able to take the opportunity to try our Chef’s Special Three Course Menu at £16.95 which is excellent value. I am certain you will enjoy with the quality of the freshly prepared seasonal dishes available in Eaton's Brasserie.

Kind regards
Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Although the rooms are small, mine was clean and comfortable enough. There is a charge for wifi in the rooms but it is free during very limited hours in the bar. Free and ample parking was an attraction. The location is opposite a large retail park and there is a bus stop a ten minute walk down the road should you wish to go to the town centre which is about a ten minute ride. In the other direction is the university of nottingham, which is 10 - 15 minutes via car. I didn't eat here but there is little to no choice of food within walking distance. The staff was reasonably friendly and check in/out went smoothly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9690304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2012

As I own a hotel myself, I am not easy to please. I could not fault the very friendly and helpful staff - even getting me the perfect feather pillow. Rooms were SPOTLESS and very comfortable. Breakfast lovely. Perfect position for fetching son from uni and plenty of choice of restaurants around to feed hungry boys.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Penny P

I am absolutely delighted to receive your comments about the hotel and the team and I am certain they will be too when I pass your comments on to them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us on your next visit to see your son.

Kind regards
Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Location is a bit out of city centre and getting a taxi is a bit hit and miss. But the hotel itself is fine. Comfortable beds and I had the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel. Room was big warm and bath plus shower added to the comfort. Tv was old - a CRT device but had a good array of channels. Food was good both bar and breakfast. Hotel is being redecorated so it will be even better soon. Staff are first class nothing is too much trouble and deserve a mention.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spongesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Spongesdad

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us and I will certainly pass your comments on to the team.

I am delighted that you found the beds so comfortable and that you had such a good nights sleep. Our plans for 2013 include replacing all our old TV's with flatscreens and we are quite excited about that as it will certainly be a big improvement to our bedrooms.

I hope when you next visit Nottingham you will choose to stay with us again, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My room was clean and very comfortable.
Vegetarian meal in the evening was very good - imaginative and delicious.
Breakfast excellent - beautifully presented. ( Superb choice of fresh fruit salads & all breakfast items, actually )
All staff very polite and friendly. Restaurant staff very attentive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Vivien W

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us.

I know all the team will be delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we all hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Nottingham.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,306 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
1.6 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nottingham

Property: Holiday Inn Nottingham
Address: 12 Castle Bridge Road | Castle Marina Park, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Nottingham is a deluxe hotel located just one mile from Nottingham City Centre, on a quiet Marina location. The hotel is one of the finest and most sought after in Nottingham, its 128 Bedrooms, Conference Facilities, Meeting space and Eaton's Restaurant and Bar area are well renowned for Quality, Service and Value. Relax in the stylish yet informal atmosphere of our Eatons Brasserie and choose from our varied menu, serving modern British cooking along with reasonably priced quality wines. BT Sports available in Eaton's Bar. The hotel is a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the city, boasting a wealth of sporting activities, Trent Bridge Cricket, Nottingham Forest Football Club, Nottingham Race Course, Holme Pierrepont or the famous Nottingham Motorpoint Ice Arena home to Nottingham Panthers Ice Hockey Team. Famous for its shopping destination and home to Paul Smith, the legendary Sherwood Forest and Nottingham Castle. The evenings truly come alive with a range of Entertainment Venues that includes several Theatres including Theatre Royal, Royal Concert Hall, Dusk Till Dawn casinos and many Night Clubs to cater for all tastes. With over 115 complimentary parking spaces available on site, our aim is to exceed the expectations of Service, Value and Quality every time you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing