We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Nottingham
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Although the rooms are small, mine was clean and comfortable enough. There is a charge for wifi in the rooms but it is free during very limited hours in the bar. Free and ample parking was an attraction. The location is opposite a large retail park and there is a bus stop a ten minute walk down the road should you wish to go to the town centre which is about a ten minute ride. In the other direction is the university of nottingham, which is 10 - 15 minutes via car. I didn't eat here but there is little to no choice of food within walking distance. The staff was reasonably friendly and check in/out went smoothly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9,690,304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Nottingham
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 693 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

As I own a hotel myself, I am not easy to please. I could not fault the very friendly and helpful staff - even getting me the perfect feather pillow. Rooms were SPOTLESS and very comfortable. Breakfast lovely. Perfect position for fetching son from uni and plenty of choice of restaurants around to feed hungry boys.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Penny P

I am absolutely delighted to receive your comments about the hotel and the team and I am certain they will be too when I pass your comments on to them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us on your next visit to see your son.

Kind regards
Paul Bentham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Location is a bit out of city centre and getting a taxi is a bit hit and miss. But the hotel itself is fine. Comfortable beds and I had the best nights sleep I have ever had in a hotel. Room was big warm and bath plus shower added to the comfort. Tv was old - a CRT device but had a good array of channels. Food was good both bar and breakfast. Hotel is being redecorated so it will be even better soon. Staff are first class nothing is too much trouble and deserve a mention.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spongesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Spongesdad

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us and I will certainly pass your comments on to the team.

I am delighted that you found the beds so comfortable and that you had such a good nights sleep. Our plans for 2013 include replacing all our old TV's with flatscreens and we are quite excited about that as it will certainly be a big improvement to our bedrooms.

I hope when you next visit Nottingham you will choose to stay with us again, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Paul Bentham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My room was clean and very comfortable.
Vegetarian meal in the evening was very good - imaginative and delicious.
Breakfast excellent - beautifully presented. ( Superb choice of fresh fruit salads & all breakfast items, actually )
All staff very polite and friendly. Restaurant staff very attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Vivien W

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us.

I know all the team will be delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we all hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Nottingham.

Kind regards

Paul Bentham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We entertained our "scattered" family to lunch at this hotel. Twelve of us in total, so not too big. From the first contact the hotel were exceptionally attentive to our needs. All staff were pleasant and professional and nothing was too much trouble. The food was well presented and enjoyed by us all, except that Edwards pizza was too much for him. Still, he is only 5 years old. The kitchen staff, too, were attentive.
My wife and I decided we would stay the night of 24th September and the Executive room was clean well thought out and comfortable, as well as being good value for money.
After our family guests had left for their home in Bedfordshire and Worcestershire we wnt down to the bar, as you do. There was a group of loud men in the bar and I had to ask the barman to ask them to moderate their language. Can't blame the hotel for the language, but it was a pity I had to ask for action. All in it was an excellent visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian_sellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear brian_sellers

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your stay with us. I will be sure to pass them on to the team.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Paul Bentham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Any visit to a hotel is a snapshot of what its like at that particular time. I appreciate we must have picked a very bad night.

I went to my room at 10.15pm on a Saturday night and within 30 minutes guests were arguing loudly outside my room and it was quickly esculating. I called reception and they were waiting for someone else to come onto the desk before they could investigate, after 10 minutes the guests moved on

Similar incidents went on until 4am, at one point there was a fight in the corridor, I know the police came and some guests were evicted.

I know it's not the hotels fault how the guests behave, but I believe the evening could have been handled better if the hotel either put additional staff in place on a weekend or if this is a regular occurance employed security staff.

It wasn't the kind of hotel I would chance a second visit to.

Room Tip: Take some ear plugs and boxing gloves :)
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SparkyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear SparkyG

I am sorry to hear that you had such an unpleasant stay with us on Saturday night.

As you quite rightly state, the cause of the disturbance was a group of people generally behaving badly in the hotel after a night out. It is very upsetting for us as a hotel to find that we have a group of individuals staying, who’s inexcusable behaviour results in guest’s like you having a disturbed night’s sleep.

We are in a quiet Marina location on the edge of the City so we do not normally experience the types of problems associated with nights out in the City Centre, hence the fact that we do not have security.

If you do decide to give us another opportunity to prove our hotel is relaxing, please telephone me personally.

Kind regards
Paul Bentham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here for two nights. It was too far to walk from the railway / bus station. Taxi costs £5.
The hotel itself is in a nice area beside the canal and across the road from Sainsburys. The reception and rooms are really clean and beds comfortable. We didn't eat here because there were so many places within 2 minutes walk.
Breakfast was varied and tasty with the usual hot food plus breads, cold meats, fruit salad etc.
The staff are very helpful and will give advice about the area if requested.
A good , inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesMoineshobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 48 in Nottingham
2,367 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
1.0 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#7 of 48 in Nottingham
1,519 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 48 in Nottingham
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nottingham

Address: 12 Castle Bridge Road | Castle Marina Park, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range: $82 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Nottingham is a deluxe hotel located just one mile from Nottingham City Centre, on a quiet Marina location. The hotel is one of the finest and most sought after in Nottingham, its 128 Bedrooms, Conference Facilities, Meeting space and Eaton's Restaurant and Bar area are well renowned for Quality, Service and Value. Relax in the stylish yet informal atmosphere of our Eatons Brasserie and choose from our varied menu, serving modern British cooking along with reasonably priced quality wines. BT Sports available in Eaton's Bar. The hotel is a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the city, boasting a wealth of sporting activities, Trent Bridge Cricket, Nottingham Forest Football Club, Nottingham Race Course, Holme Pierrepont or the famous Nottingham Motorpoint Ice Arena home to Nottingham Panthers Ice Hockey Team. Famous for its shopping destination and home to Paul Smith, the legendary Sherwood Forest and Nottingham Castle. The evenings truly come alive with a range of Entertainment Venues that includes several Theatres including Theatre Royal, Royal Concert Hall, Dusk Till Dawn casinos and many Night Clubs to cater for all tastes. With over 115 complimentary parking spaces available on site, our aim is to exceed the expectations of Service, Value and Quality every time you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing