We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promises a lot more than it delivers - on several fronts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Rural Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Promises a lot more than it delivers - on several fronts.”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hardware is as expected from this place. Standard, nothing special. Location - too far from town to walk - taxis were between £ 6 and £ 8 (oct 2012), depending on destination or origin.

The place is let down by - frankly - the BS it serves, in several ways. Got a 'personal' letter, welcoming me as a ...... member, saying how delighted they are to welcome someone as important...... and how they were going to shower me with benefits......

First benefit - evening meal: had phoned IN ADVANCE to ask if they have 'any curry' on the menu. Got a positive reply. Checked in, and - again - got confirmation that I'd get my curry. Sat down in the restaurant - after a very frosty / mechanical welcome - to be told that there was 'no way' the Chef would ALLOW me to have a curry in the (almost empty) restaurant. I'd have to have it in some lounge (three feet away from my table) or in my room.....!!! Now guys, get your story straight - there are plenty of curry houses I could have stopped at, on my way to you, that would have saved me the time and expense of hopping in a cab (and back) and would have prevented you harming your credibility!!!

Second benefit - newspaper (ask what you want...). At check-in I asked for the Times. Received.... nothing. When I enquired at reception, I was told (without any apology) that I could have some other paper they get for all guests.... but not the Times.

Third benefit - breakfast. Ask (as I do in all / any hotels I stay in) for a double espresso. The reply I usually get is 'of course - I'll bring it...' - here I got a 'oh well, I suppose so' type response, followed by half a sip of weak coffee.... When I asked for a larger amount of esperesso in a bigger cup, my larger cup was filled with the same amount... half a sip. Just ended up asking for regular coffee, which was not very pleasant.

Fourth benefit - housekeeping staff. Several times they and their equipment blocked my way in corridors / lift / ..... all this during the 'peak morning rush' - there were plenty of other guests trying to manoevre around these obstacles, from my interpretation of body language, they were not enjoying this. The staff seemed totally oblivious to the idea that there might be some people in the property called "guests" who might need to get somewhere too.....

All in all, this is a place I shall give a wide berth on future visits to Nottingham.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Nossi

I am really very concerned to hear that you were so disappointed with your stay with us.

You are quite correct that although curry is on our Bar/Lounge and Room Service Menus it is not on our A la Carte Menu served in the Restaurant. However, I do think that the member of staff concerned could have made an exception for you, especially as you say the Restaurant was quite quiet at the time. A little more thought on our part, and the issue would not have arisen.

In relation to the espresso and newspaper, I have passed your comments on to our Restaurant and Front Office Managers and asked them to speak to their teams to re-iterate how important it is for us to get these types of requests right for our guests.

I am sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced by our Housekeeping Staff and their trolley’s. I do know they try their best to not inconvenience any of our guests but clearly on this occasion they have not paid sufficient attention to keeping their trolleys close to the corridor walls.

Please accept my sincere apologies for our failure to not deliver all that you quite rightly expected from us, and I understand how frustrating that can be, but I do hope that your experience here will not deter you from staying with Holiday Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    315
    131
    34
    10
See reviews for
114
208
27
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I had a fantastic time at the Holiday Inn. The attention to detail was exemplary; the room was clean, warm and welcoming. The menu had a fantastic choice to cater for all tastes, and the staff were polite, courteous and professional.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenabiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here a few times over the years most recently this week. Seemed more expensive this time but struggled to find any hotel in Nottingham.

Good location with a Sainsbury's over the road and McD's next door.

Rooms clean but OK, bathroom was a bit dated.

Never seem to get a platinum room upgrade at this hotel though, said there were no rooms available to upgrade to but there were when i checked on the website. Used to get a little bag of water and chocolate, never got that either! is this not a priority club perk anymore?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durham_Bloke_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I must admit to being booked into this hotel by my employer to attend a conference nearby. The hotel was comfortable and service good as you would expect from this chain. Sadly the restaurant and bar seemed to me to be overpriced (£7.50 for a double scotch?) especially as it is essentially on a retail park with competition close by. If you are on a budget then within spitting distance there is a Brewers Fayre, a Harvester and a Hungry Horse (the 9 oz steak was excellent for a tenner). and Sainsbury opposite. And the canal basin nearby is very pleasant. Can not fault the hotel but suggest look around for eating ideas. Ther is always a cab into the centre for .more options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptb53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Phillip g

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us.

I hope that if you stay with us again you will be able to take the opportunity to try our Chef’s Special Three Course Menu at £16.95 which is excellent value. I am certain you will not be disappointed with the quality of the freshly prepared seasonal dishes available in Eaton's Brasserie.

Kind regards
Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

First time here, staff all friendly & helpful which is particularly necessary when you have two children in wheelchairs. Made the couple of days of hospital appointments more pleasurable by having somewhere so nice to stay. Breakfast was lovely & everywhere spotless. Only niggle was no free Wi-fi, even just for a short period. £7.50 for 24 hours so had to do without Facebook. Would certainly hope to use this hotel again when coming back for more hospital appointments.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Joy F

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us, I hope the children enjoyed staying with us too!

Although we make a charge for Wi-Fi in our bedrooms , we do offer free Wi-Fi in our Bar/Restaurant area during the day - between 10.30am and 4.00pm - we also have a PC in our Lobby which offers free internet access 24 hours a day, and I hope you will be able to make use of these facilities on your next stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As usual - have stayed here many times - the hotel was absolutely what was expected! Good room, good food and excellent friendly service! It is well located for the City Centre or the railway station - a walk or taxi ride away - but has a feeling of calm, canalside, openess which is rare in a big city like Nottingham. Well located for links to the M1 and A1. The only improvement I'd make is to update the tv's in the rooms - they are a tad dated now, but I suspect that wouldn't improve the programmes!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are always quieter but there's not much in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Geoffrey B

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that our plans for the hotel included flat screen TV's for 2013. I certainly agree that our old TV's can make the whole room appear dated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards
Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is an annual event now for us to visit Nottingham and meet family.However this year we held a reunion at the Holiday Inn.The evening was arranged by Isabella who booked us two suites,and arranged all the food and drinks,in liason with my wife.The evening was enjoyed by everyone,all commented on both the quality and quantity of the food,it would compare with any wedding reception.The staff are always helpful and many have been there for the 9 years we have used the Holiday Inn,always a good sign.We always have a ground floor executive room,we understand the bedrooms are to be upgraded with new TVs etc.The foyer is also being refurbished.Food both in the evening and at breakfast is good and Jack the head chef is prepared to provide additional items on request (fried bread being a personal favourite).Being on holiday we miss the early breakfast rush and the "mass booking out " but it always seems to go smoothly.The hotel is in walking distance of the Market Square but a taxi into town was only £6.20 for five,the bus would have been £5.00.Plenty of free parking.Thank you to Shirley,Jack,Isabella,Stanley,Emma,Kyle,Wayne,Jessica,Leanne and Diane and all other staff for attending to our every need so efficiently.Will return again next year.Wish all Holiday Inns were as good as Nottingham!!!!

Room Tip: Executive Room on the Ground Floor,so handy for all services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derbydiner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Nottingham, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear GwyneddPoshpaws

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your stay with us.

I have passed your comments on to all the team and they are delighted that you were so happy with your stay and the service you received.

We look forward to seeing you again in 2013.

Kind regards
Paul Bentham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#7 of 49 in Nottingham
2,275 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
1.6 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
625 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Nottingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nottingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nottingham

Property: Holiday Inn Nottingham
Address: 12 Castle Bridge Road | Castle Marina Park, Nottingham NG7 1GX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Nottingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Nottingham 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Nottingham is a deluxe hotel located just one mile from Nottingham City Centre, on a quiet Marina location. The hotel is one of the finest and most sought after in Nottingham, its 128 Bedrooms, Conference Facilities, Meeting space and Eaton's Restaurant and Bar area are well renowned for Quality, Service and Value. Relax in the stylish yet informal atmosphere of our Eatons Brasserie and choose from our varied menu, serving modern British cooking along with reasonably priced quality wines. BT Sports available in Eaton's Bar. The hotel is a pleasant 15 minute stroll from the city, boasting a wealth of sporting activities, Trent Bridge Cricket, Nottingham Forest Football Club, Nottingham Race Course, Holme Pierrepont or the famous Nottingham Motorpoint Ice Arena home to Nottingham Panthers Ice Hockey Team. Famous for its shopping destination and home to Paul Smith, the legendary Sherwood Forest and Nottingham Castle. The evenings truly come alive with a range of Entertainment Venues that includes several Theatres including Theatre Royal, Royal Concert Hall, Dusk Till Dawn casinos and many Night Clubs to cater for all tastes. With over 115 complimentary parking spaces available on site, our aim is to exceed the expectations of Service, Value and Quality every time you stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Nottingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nottingham Hotel Nottingham
Nottingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing