We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant enough; not quite 'restaurant' enough for the hype.”

The Riverbank Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #139 of 1,414 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Riverbank Bar & Kitchen is a vibrant, busy venue in a stunning location on Trent Bridge, West Bridgford.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough; not quite 'restaurant' enough for the hype.”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Visited for a lunch. Went fancying a steak.

Entered the bar, struck up a tab and told to order my food here.

Sat outside; a lovely place on the river (well, duh), and not too busy - apparently this changes dramatically if there's any football on.

Steak arrived - lovely. Very steakhouse - wooden board, little copper pan of sauce, bucket of chips. All very West Bridgeford. Sorry. It was good. Steak good quality and cooked well; very acceptable for twenty something quid; and I didn't need extra sides at supplement.

Overall, good food, but lacked any sort of FOH interaction (no personality, no check-back or even professional observation of how we were getting on). It definitely has it's place, but lacks the romance of a proper restaurant, for me.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdotroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    174
    75
    49
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great setting, great atmosphere and great food.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have eaten here several times and have always had a lovely experience and a lovely meal. Both the restaurant and bar overlook the river at Trent Bridge and there is the option of outdoor seating both during the day and at night as they have patio heaters. The atmosphere in the restaurant is relaxed and you feel very well looked after but not pestered. The menu is interesting and changes quite frequently. The earlybird menu is excellent value for money. The place has a nice buzz about it on weekends as there is always live music in the bar. If eating in the restaurant it's good to be able to move to the bar and enjoy live music and a drink after dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatherineJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
130 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Food & Excellent Service”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We ate on the early bird menu which was really good value for money. Great food and the staff were very attentive and helpful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louisenottingham9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have had to come back again! I love the food here, we have been on several occasions, either for birthdays or treats. The food is just the best with a wide variety and very reasonably priced. Sometimes when they are busy the service can be a bit slow, but this can be forgiven when the food arrives! Thank you for a lovely birthday for myself and my daughter. xx

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Treat”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We chose to celebrate our 52nd Anniversary by having a Fine Dining Experience at the Riverbank Bar & Kitchen and we were not disappointed. The food was excellent.

Each course we chose we could not fault with a special mention to the Scallops with Shredded Black Pudding and the pallate cleanser of Rhubarb/Yoghurt & sorbet.

The service was excellent and the staff were extremely helpful and attentive without being overfussy.

It has a great riverside location and delightful ambience . We will certainly visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank almandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverbankManagement, General Manager at The Riverbank Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Congratulations on your 52nd Anniversary! What a fantastic milestone!
Thank you for choosing the Riverbank to celebrate your special day. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff who always get a boost from such positive feedback!

Thank you once again and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverbank Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Farndon, Newark-on-Trent
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Riverbank Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing