We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great half day out”

Framework Knitters' Museum
Ranked #21 of 118 things to do in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Living MuseumNottinghamshire folk have been Framework Knitting for over 400 years.Isn’t it time you joined us?Discover how the Knitters lived and workedVisit the workshops and see a Framework Knitter in actionCreate your own souvenir on a circular knitting machineExplore the garden, the wash house and other period buildingsView our historic collection of hosiery including Queen Victoria’s stockingsSee the poor living and working conditions, which gave rise to the Luddite revoltDiscover the craft, which gave birth to the Nottingham Lace IndustryVisit our Textile Emporium shop and support contemporary crafts.Relax in the museum tea-room or enjoy refreshments on the lawn.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Interesting buildings and history of this old traditional Nottinghamshire industry, working machinery and examples of what could be made and also how the workers lived at the time of the industry hey day.

Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 107 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

Do go along to see how the framework knitters lived and worked, and have a go on the machines. A lovely hidden gem in Ruddington.

Thank Mossdeeping20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Really interesting to see the living and working conditions for industrial workers, and the poverty of the workers. The machines are equally interesting. Especially as my great great grandfather was a framework knitter in Kirkby in Ashfield! Volunteers very helpful and well informed.

Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrameKnit, Manager at Framework Knitters' Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

So glad you enjoyed your visit. Hopefully you will find time to revisit once our Lottery funded improvements are launched in September. Updates will be posted on our website and facebook page.
Thanks for supporting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have visited this museum on more than one occasion and have found it to be a very interesting and well-run place. We were given a demonstration on the workings of the machines and were also given the chance of making our own sock on the stocking machine. The cottages in which the museum is housed also give a very good idea of how the workers and the owners lived . The volunteers working here were very friendly, welcoming and informed and the website (www.frameworkknittersmuseum.org.uk) is very comprehensive and readable.It is well worth a trip to Ruddington to pay this museum a visit and with an entrance cost of just £4 per adult (concessions available) it is a real bargain.

Thank PamH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrameKnit, Manager at Framework Knitters' Museum, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

So Glad you enjoyed your visit. We are making major improvements to the museum over the next 12 months so I hope you will be able to revisit and enjoy them. Updates will be posted on our website and facebook page.
Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

A very interesting and well kept museum. Excellent for a group visit or to wander around on your own. The enthusiasm of the staff and artisans there adds to the experience

Thank topsyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrameKnit, Manager at Framework Knitters' Museum, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you, that's very kind. We are currently making improvements to the site so I hope you enjoy it just as much once we've finished. Thank you for taking time to comment. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Framework Knitters' Museum also viewed

 

Been to Framework Knitters' Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing