We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in parts, not so in others”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunny Mount Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 26 Nottingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a well located guest house, very handy to the bus to the city centre and close to local shops. We found the double front gates and gravel pathway a little difficult to negotiate with our heavy luggage, but once we arrived at the front door we received a friendly welcome from one of the owners.

We had booked the Forest suite and found it to be very spacious with a large bathroom/dressing room which was separated from the bedroom by a curtain. This is one of the few guesthouses we have stayed in that had plenty of space to store our luggage. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. It was nice to have a fridge in the room and fresh milk supplied.

The decor is very female oriented – pictures of shoes, pink towels - and the toiletries are heavily scented.

Unfortunately breakfast didn’t live up to expectations. We had to nominate a choice of food and time the previous day, so we expected it would be cooked to order and served at the requested time. This was not the case, as heralded by the frequent pinging of the microwave in the adjoining kitchen. It was obviously cooked early and reheated in the microwave. It was then served well after the requested time, quite dried out, on silly shaped plates. There was a lot of ‘style’ in rolled up bacon and baked beans in little dishes but the quality was lost in reheating. Additionally the morning lady was rather abrupt. Although she did everything required, it all appeared to be a bit of an inconvenience.

This is a well priced guesthouse and we enjoyed most aspects of our stay here. I’d like to rate it ‘Excellent’, but the breakfast experience let it down.

Room Tip: The Forest suite is spacious with a huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 155 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Went here for one night for a work trip and stayed in the Forest room. It is beautifully decorated and the breakfast was very nice. Only a short walk to a few local pubs and a nice curry restaurant. Good value for money too I thought - would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagelobagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nice friendly but unintrusive welcome.
Lots of thought in the design of the place.
(Female-friendly design with pictures of shoes, but not a criticism as lady owner's personality shines trough :-) )
Only 3 suites it seems, so not a busy feel. Quite intimate.
*Really* comfortable mattress! (Will find out where they bought it!)
Lovely breakfast & very nice crockery.
A warm & cozy place.
Will stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VINDEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed at Sunny Mount last weekend after a very wet and cold day watching the St Patricks Day Parade, arrived in the evening to a very warm and welcoming room a comfortable bed and a goodnights sleep.
there are 3 beautiful rooms we were in Valley View a lovely en suite room very modern and clean included a fridge with bottled water and cold milk for the tea and coffee .
Very nice hosts and a fantastic breakfast beautifully presented would recommend to anyone, we left the car there and took the bus into Nottingham a short journey of about 15mins .
all in all a lovely experience .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rig27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, as we had a family party in this area. We stayed in the Belvoir suite , which was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Lovely big corner bath in the bathroom. There was a fridge with a large jug of milk and bottles of water. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was very good and nicely presented. Overall, a very nice guesthouse.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisbeew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a night at Sunnymount whilst visiting a relative locally. Our room was as nice as we expected and the bed was very large & comfortable.
The breakfast was very nice too & the hosts were very welcoming
Would recommend

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeenyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I had an overnight stay, enjoying a beautifully cooked and presented evening meal. The bedroom and bed were very comfortable, and the and breakfast gave us an excellent start to the day. The hosts, Jessica and Jennie, did all they could to make our stay an enjoyable one,

Room Tip: The Forest room had a large very comfortable king size bed and overlooked the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,566 reviews
2.9 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#30 of 41 in Nottingham
157 reviews
2 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mama's Inn Boutique Guest House
5.4 mi away
Hylands
Hylands
#8 of 26 in Nottingham
191 reviews
5.8 mi away
Nelson and Railway Inn and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Mount Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Mount Bed and Breakfast

Address: 310 Porchester Road | Mapperley, Nottingham NG3 6GR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham
Price Range: $81 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunny Mount Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a Bed and Breakfast, this great late Victorian property (built in 1903) with its high ceilings add to the feeling of space and freedom, along with stylishly designed rooms with attractive, welcoming layouts, is a home from home. We make it our job to ensure you have a fantastic stay. Visit us once, and you will want to visit us again and again ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunny Mount Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing