We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub and place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nelson and Railway Inn and Hotel
Ranked #12 of 40 Nottingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2012

If you are in the Nottingham area this is the place to go. Excellent pub, nice hotel and easy bus connection (rainbow 1) to Nottingham city centre. I certyainly would not even consider staying in a premier in if I could stay here. If you like real ale even better. Although its a greene king pub it has a lot of excellent guest ales. A liitle old fashioned maybe but for me thats a plus point rather than a negative one.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swindonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Nelson and Railway Inn and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 114 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed at the N&R as a base for visiting the peaks and friends near Nottingham. It's a good old fashioned pub, with a tap room and lounge where food is served. The room was clean and spacious and the staff very helpful. Good food too, including a hearty full English breakfast. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N0RWICH_LAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

When I looked at the website I had high hopes for this pub; I was not disappointed. From the moment we went in the atmosphere and the welcome from the hosts and the locals was second to none - like something you used to remember from way back when. Just how a traditional English pub should be! We needed a place to rest our heads and get clean after a long day of house clearing. A quick pint or two of the local 'Old Harrys Bitter' soon soothed our dusty throats and we enjoyed a lovely meal- the steak and ale pie has been mentioned before - try it! A hearty breakfast after a good night's sleep set us up for the next day's work and we enjoyed the meal so much we went back the same evening to eat instead of battling the usual Friday night traffic home - a much more civilised idea. I used to live only about three miles from this pub. How did I miss it in my youth?!! We'll be back and next time I'll take in some of the lovely local walks I used to know.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Birdbrain1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stopped overnight here as Premier Inn type hotels all full or too expensive in Nottingham area.
Quite a find!
Had a double Queen Bed room. Room was full of character (beams and tasteful pictures) and was well equipped.
Bed very comfy and powerful/efficient shower.
Didn't eat an evening meal here, but menu had all you'd expect from a pub/inn like this. Breakfast was good and all the staff I met very friendly.
Large car park (but a little hard to find as you have to go past, right and right again)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank HamptonKex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We have visited this pub twice for a meal and a drink on our way south via the M1. It is a classic English Pub with a public bar and a lounge/restaurant bar. If you prefer to eat al fresco there are well equipped beer gardens front and rear. The food is very homely and great value, we especially enjoyed the home made pies of which there are several, also they have an interesting selection of specials on the blackboard. Desserts are mouthwatering and mainly of the fruit pie or Spotted Dick variety with custard or ice cream, amazing value at £2.50 The beers vary, with excellent guest ales, last time I went I enjoyed a pint of Thwaites Wainwright. We have'nt stayed in the hotel accommodation but if it's up to the standard of the pub I'm sure it will be first class.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank JOE_FAGIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

Had a great four days at this Inn/hotel. The room was very clean and adequately furnished and the bathroom was fine with a shower fitted over the bath.
Only 10 rooms available so booking, I would think, is necessary.
We ate on three of the nights we were there and the food was delicious. I can recommend the steak and ale pie with the most delicious creamed potatoes you could imagine. But then the gammon steak was delicious also and all my friends were delighted with what they ate. Plenty of it on the plate also.
Because they were full with people from all over Europe, from the course, they decided to put on a continental breakfast. Strawberries, raspberries, grapes, melon, apples, pears, bananas were there to delight us each morning as well as yoghurts, cereals and fruit juice. I did not venture over to the other table but I did spy meats, cheeses and croissants. Sally, in the kitchen, was only too happy to cook bacon for anyone who wanted it so I had bacon muffins each day, declining a full English because of the fruit selection beforehand.
As I was on a course 3 miles away I did not take advantage of local amenities but did walk into the village where there are the usual array of shops and a fabulous Indian restaurant which we had to use on the Sunday because we were too late back to eat in the Nelson and Railway. Note that they stop serving evening meals on a Sunday at 6 pm.
They have a nice selection of Ales, both cask conditioned and keg - at reasonable prices too.
Nick, our host, was lovely and nothing was too much trouble for him. Always a smile and a chat for us as what time of day it was when we saw him.
A beer garden to the left and right at the front and one at the back of the property was well used as the weekend was warm and sunny but I suspect it is well supported by locals (who were very friendly to us) all of the time.
My partner was not attending the course and so he went walking, meeting friendly people on his rambles who supplied him with some of the local history.
A fabulous weekend and we intend going back over this summer and definitely will be booking in when I go on the course again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LancashireLankyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
4.8 mi away
P and J Hotel
P and J Hotel
#32 of 48 in Nottingham
155 reviews
6.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 48 in Nottingham
2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#14 of 48 in Nottingham
693 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mama's Inn Boutique Guest House
5.7 mi away
Hylands
Hylands
#13 of 40 in Nottingham
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson and Railway Inn and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson and Railway Inn and Hotel

Address: Station Road | Kimberley, Nottingham NG16 2NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham
Price Range: $74 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nelson and Railway Inn and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nelson and Railway Inn and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing