We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cumin Restaurant

The Cumin Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cumin Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 1,395 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $38
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Cumin Indian Restaurant Authentic North Indian
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Being a big fan of Inidian cuisine, I was really looking forward to one of Nottingham's most recommended proponents of the genre.

The food was all very good and tasty. The chicken tender and the naan well cooked, but it did not go beyond that. I woulld have to say that it was good but not outstanding, with one exception. My wife went for a vegetable jalfrezi and that really was excellent, with beautiful freshly prepared vegetables, which are all too often appear to come out of a packet in many English Indian restaurants.

A particular dislike of mine was the oilyness of the dishes. I know that it is a Punjabi style to have very rich dishes, but my experience is that it is possible to achieve good tasty dishes without the need for a gallon of ghee.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim_H_from_Lincs_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    994
    221
    76
    36
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inspiring Choice of Venue for Gentlemens' College Reunion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stumbled on Cumin after local recommendation. Very good venue for larger group. When booking I explained we needed a long table (8) for a gentlemens' reunion - all to be very civilised but maybe a bit loud. Cumin was on message - placed us in the right spot. Also they realised we didn't want to spend any of the evening looking at the menu so advised well on what to choose. Food a very pleasant surprise - not just hot but very tasty with sophisticated flavours. We arrived for the company, not the food, but it ended up praises all round for a superb meal and still talking about it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Not been for a while due to be out of Nottingham, but always great to go back. The food is always served hot, menus always explained, very reasonable, service great. Not much to say other than you wont be disapointed. The African/Indian fusion of flavours and spices are just the best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank add1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We travel over to Notts to visit the outlaws and go to Cumin whenever we can. It is by far and way one of the best Indian restaurants I have had the pleasure to dine in. A year passed between visits (sadly) and we went over New Year and the owner remembered us and even that we were from Cheshire!! He told us he took our booking whilst on a trip to the cinema with his kids...now that's Customer Service!

Highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Issymiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of Nottingham's Finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was recommended Cumin by a friend when I mentioned that I was planning a birthday meal and it certainly didn't disappoint. The selection of starters and mains are the best that I have experienced outside of the Indian subcontinent and my friends all agreed. The service was very friendly without being at all intrusive and the environment was thoroughly enjoyable. It isn't overly expensive and even within reach of a student budget for a celebration. I will certainly be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex_Hamilton92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cumin Restaurant also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Cumin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing