We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had better”

Lime Indian Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 1,266 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Multi award winning Indian Restaurant situated in Nuthall, Nottingham and crowned East Midlands Indian Restaurant of the Year 2016. Now included in the 2017 Michelin Guide Nottinghams only fully open Indian Kitchen, watch your food being cooked fresh to order. Enjoy traditional favourites as well and unique regional Indian dishes.Free car parking.You are welcome to bring your own wine or beer (no corkage).
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Not the best Indian we have had. Tried to ask for a dish not on menu and it did say ask if you want something modified, but not really good. Naan breads were very good, but that all. Chutneys with popadoms bland. Quite noisy too, not good for a romantic night out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dalestorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 382 of 467 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Visited for the second time with a small group. The staff seemed stressed no smiles or welcoming. They were efficient but too efficient leading us to feel rushed and like we needed to hurry. The food came out within minutes of ordering which was a bit suspicious!

What I will say is if you want a quick and very tasty meal at excellent value it's great with 2 for 1 on Tuesdays.

The highlights was the rice dishes were so tasty, far from plain pilau rice. The meat was lovely and tender and there was a nice balance of heat and flavour.

However what let it down for us was the fact that the staff all had grumpy expressions and only seemed to mutter the odd word when trying to take the order, basically they were in a rush. The garlic naan was very thin and crispy and covered in raw bitter garlic so we couldn't eat it. The chocolate pudding was meant to be warm but was only like warm yet the cream seemed hot. Then the bill was put on the table as we were still eating! After paying we had a chat and became aware of a commotion only to look round and see crowds of people waiting and the waiters making gestures to us to leave the table.

All in all we loved the food except the naan! The curry was very very nice.

However the service was not up to scratch. Even though its two for one I don't expect to be ushered in and out without as much as a hello thank you or goodbye! Pretty shocking really.

Sorry lime, but you need to be aware it's the little things that make the difference. We will be back but will expect better treatment next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank teggtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahid R, Owner at Lime Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Firstly, thank you for acknowledging how good our 2 for 1 Tuesday deal is. We are the only top quality Indian restaurant Nottingham that offers such an amazing deal especially as we allow you to bring your own wine / beer too.

I would however like to apologise for the quality of service you received that evening. Clearly food is one part of the dining experience and we have since spoken to all staff now in regards to ensuring that small things like smiling is important and can make a big difference which i agree with you entirely.

I apologise if you felt rushed on Tuesday. As you maybe aware Tuesday is always busy - even so we do allow a generous time between bookings and we do need to ensure we can cater for as many tables as possible without compromising customer experience. On this occasion we did have the table booked for another guest which was in accordance with our standard policy allowing a generous time for your booking also. It is important that we can continue to offer such great value dining and we have taken your feedback on board.

I am pleased that you enjoyed meal and i have passed on your kind compliments onto our chef (it always makes him smile).

Thanks again for your comments - we genuinely value all feedback and it can only help us improve.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regard
Shahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have dined at Lime on a couple of occassions now and decided to take my partner as we had a babysitter for the night.

As always, food and service were fantastic and we wouldn't go anywhere else. Well worth the drive across town!

A hidden treasure in Nuthall and a restaurant that deserves all its praise and awards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KiwiKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahid R, Owner at Lime Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Hi kiwikatie

Thanks very much for your review. I am pleased you have taken the time to write a review for us. We look forward to seeing you again soon !

Kind regards
Shahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have tried many restaurants and this has to be one of the best, our family was made to feel so welcome, very attentive and professional service. We tried dishes that we hadn't heard of before I had a Hara which for my taste was perfect, deep flavours with a tasty kick. The naan bread wasnt to heavy and all the food was fresh. Our 3 year old was made to feel very special with her own set of children's cutlery which I thought a nice touch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dringster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Been eating here for over 3 years and wouldn't go anywhere else for Indian Food.

Tried other places and always come away disappointed. Food always excellent - staff are great. Recommend the Masala Fish - 2 for 1 on Tuesday is amazing deal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank magicmonkey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lime Indian Restaurant also viewed

Nuthall, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Lime Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing