We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Midtown Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Midtown Hostel
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Lovely Place with great staff!!! The location is so close to market square and can't be beat. You go outside and your pretty much in the city centre. Everybody was so nice and clean. The staff made sure to show us around and gave us some great tips on what to do.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisjasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 55 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I guess this is the sort of place that becomes good or bad depending on the people. Me & my friend were lucky enough to spend a night with really friendly travellers from all over Europe. Originally, we booked a twin room for a night just to go & see The Killers play at Nottingham`s Trent Arena but there was a mix up & ended up on a 6 bed doorm, paying a bit less. We thought this would be terrible, as we`re already in our late 30s & been there & done that when we were much younger, but it ended up being a lovely night spent with really nice people.
The staff were nice & friendly, & the place clean.
Not for the ones used to hotels & just want some privacy, but if you`re travelling it`s really fun & dead in the centre of Nottingham. Great to spend a night when you go to Nottingham for a concert.

Room Tip: Not a lot of difference between rooms, the main problem when you sleep are the bhurch bells that sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosmicpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were here for 3 nights, primarily to watch the cricket. We had a comfortable stay, the only complaint would be the upstairs shower needed fixing (which they did in the time we were there). The staff were friendly and the place was conveniently located.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lizzie406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is the worst place you will ever stay, and to cap if off they will take extra money out of your account if you pay by card then claim you damaged your room. Full on scam, never showed me any evidence of damage other than a letter but no ACTUAL proof. BE AWARE CON ARTISTS.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BFC79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midtown H, Manager at Midtown Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear BFC79,

As you can image, and was explained to you we don't have any type of scan, and we don't charge extra fee, without a good reason.
You can find all over the hostel our policy, and it was because of the damage cause by your guest that we had to charge extra.

DAMAGES:
* The accidental damage to hostel property must be reported to the on duty manager. It will be up to you to pay for the damage and to negotiate a fee with the manager. If you do not report damage caused by you or your party the full price of repairs will be charged to you.
* It is required for customers to respect the hostel. Any intentional damage to the hostel (eg. writing on walls) will result in a fixed price charge of £48.00 and EVICTION without refund.
* It is against the law to disburse extinguishers without due cause. If anybody intentionally removes and disburses extinguisher you will be EVICTED without refund and charged £100.00 to replace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Booked three months in advance because I was staying on a busy weekend in Nottingham. Me and my friends traveled from all over the country to get there, only to find they had no rooms! Made no attempt to appoligise, and we struggled to get the deposit back. Avoid. There is a really nice hostel just a little further out of town, we went to instead.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sybol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Keeping this review PG. Midtown Hostel are a disgrace. We booked a 2 night stay at the Hostel 3 and a half months prior to the date of arrival. When we turned up we were then told that there had been a mistake and they had double booked the room. Their resolution was simply that we have to sort alternative accommodation out without even an apology or assistance by them. Probably because they knew this was a very busy weekend in Nottingham and getting accommodation would have been impossible without paying the charge for it. The staff member behind the counter provided next to no assistance and when the manager was called she actually walked away when challenged that they had made the mistake. Customer service I can very safely say I have never seen anywhere else. Midtown Hostel even made it very difficult when I explained that they owed me £20 for the room deposit which despite the double booking they were quite happy to take. In short, we had to pay a lot extra to stay somewhere 10 miles away despite booking the accommodation 3 and a half months beforehand and with no help from Midtown. *******AVOID THIS HOSTEL********

Room Tip: We ended up staying at the Igloo Hostel. Which was a very good experience, friendly staff, clean roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rikd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Turned up and he tells me he canceled my reservation 2 days ago by leaving a message on my mobile's answer machine, which I hadn't picked up. As far as I can work out this isn't within the regulations for a hostel/hotel but I didn't know at the time what the law is. He refunded me the money and looked up somewhere else for me to go but still very poor imo.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Hot Beef C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Nottingham Centre
Ibis Nottingham Centre
#18 of 41 in Nottingham
1,231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Igloo Backpackers Hostel
Igloo Backpackers Hostel
#4 of 13 in Nottingham
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Igloo Hybrid
Igloo Hybrid
#1 of 13 in Nottingham
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
2,518 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
0.1 mi away
Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Hostel

Address: 5A Thurland Street, Nottingham NG1 3DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Nottingham
Price Range: $27 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MidTown Hostel has everything you want from a hostel; heart of the city central location, great services, private & shared rooms (max 6 or 7 people) and most importantly friendly & helpful staff who are always happy to help you out and have a chat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Midtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing