We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, good service”
Review of Yod Siam - CLOSED

Yod Siam
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
172 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Wide menu choice, good quality tasting thai food comparable with some of the best in nottingham. But not THE best. Prices are reasonable, being slightly to the higher end for the portion sizes you get. The ambience is quite good though its only a small restaurant so it can feel a bit crowded if its full. The £10 all you can eat buffet on sundays is good value though the options are limited and better to go early evening, as when i went late one night the food had been out for quite a while and i had to ask for some new stuff to be cooked. All in all a good quality thai restaurant with experienced friendly staff. Could do with a make over inside as its a bit dated, and a slight reduction in prices or increase in portion sizes would be better!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pughio83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    25
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Thailand comes to Beeston”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Consistently good, excellent service and a charming room make this place hard to fault. The food is fresh and flavoursome and they have a great value lunch menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LozKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I feel mean about saying anything detrimental about the Yod Siam because the staff there really are genuinely nice people and clearly care about their business.
But the reality is that this is not an exceptional Thai restaurant.
Four of us had mixed platters and three different mains between us. The starters were very good, as we were assured they would be by our friends who had eaten there before.
But I'm afraid the mains were pretty average. The noodles that accompanied the two Ga Pows we ordered were overcooked and the Ga Pows were more Bland than Pow.
The two curries (one red, one green) were fine. But not exceptional.
I think the problem here, like a lot of "Indian" and Chinese restaurants, is the sheer volume of dishes available. Yod Siam has around 30 different main courses so to get all of them cooked very well must be nigh on impossible. And the 30 dishes excludes the variations of each meat option. So logically, how can this many combinations be of fresh produce, freshly and properly cooked?
It really isn't bad, and I wouldn't advise against going here, but I wonder how good it could be if they greatly reduced the number of choices and specialised in doing a smaller number of dishes and concentrating on doing them very well, to differentiate themselves from the other Thai restaurants in the area.
As I say, the service is superb and it would be great if they match their cooking accordingly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
245 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Good but don't understand the hype!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Yes this is a good reliable thai restaurant but I am a little surprised by some the rave reviews.
I have eaten here on a number of occasions since the restaurant opened and returned last week with friends.
The service is always friendly and polite but our waitress struggled to understand us despite several attempts to explain the order she still got it wrong.
This was not a one off incident.

The food is nice but no better than all the other Thai restaurants I have eaten at locally.

Beer choice limited to Small bottled lagers.


I am sure I will visit again and no doubt enjoy my meal but I doubt will ever be rushing there or coming away thinking it was an amazing meal or great value!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Buzzy atmosphere with authentic food”
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Visited this evening for the first time. Really impressed! Love Thai food and this is our favourite now. So relieved to find a welcoming place with a buzzy atmosphere with great food and service. I asked for my green curry to be milder and this wasn't a problem. We will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pgEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yod Siam also viewed

Beeston, Nottingham
Car Colston, Nottingham
 
Arnold, Nottingham
Gunthorpe, Nottingham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing