We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can totally recommend!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nottingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 42 Nottingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woking
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Can totally recommend!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed for one night last night, booked at very short notice. Due to that, I think I was in a room they don't usually use for B and B guests but it was very nice and the fact that the shower room was not ensuite but down a small flight of well-lit private stairs was clearly explained before I booked - so no unexpected surprises.

All very clean and tastefully furnished - I wasn't in the room long enough to use the TV but the bed was so comfortable that, having woken early at my habitual work hour, I went back to sleep and overslept the delivery of my breakfast at the time I had asked for it! Felt very guilty when I woke up but nothing was too much trouble for Sally, who kindly re-made it with no fuss at all. It was really delicious, served in my room and the eggs were obviously from happy hens!

Parking outside in the wide residential road is no problem. Free access to the house with your own key and security code, so no worries about late nights.

Have already recommended to a couple of Nottingham people and I will be very happy to stay there again if returning to Nottingham - in fact I would look forward to it! Thank you Sally! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TopCat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
42
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Sally made us feel very welcome when our son couldn't accommodate us on his birthday weekend. We had a lovely time here, great breakfast (served in our room, which was lovely) overlooking the garden and pond. Would stay here again and again, lovely room, nice quality bed linen and furnishings, bathroom small but well functioning and clean, clean, clean. Comfortable atmosphere, felt safe and secure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldie2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

we stayed one night at this lovely b & b for a friends 40th. Sally was lovely and made us feel extremely welcome and at home. The room was beautiful and everything had been thought of. it was great to have separate entrance so we could come and go as we pleased. Breakfast was better than you'd expect from a 5 * hotel and the bonus of having it bought to your room made the stay even more special. Value for money indeed!!! we will definitely stay here again, thanks sally x

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georginap766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed at Thorpe House for 3 nights on business rather than pleasure. However I would not hesitate to stay there again for business or pleasure. Sally was very welcoming and accommodating providing me with a map of where I needed to go. The breakfast was delicious with a good choice served in the room, a nice personal touch. Also has a lovely garden that guests can enjoy should they choose. Stayed at a big hotel last time in Nottingham, Thorpe House was much nicer, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Warm welcome, very comfortable and pretty rooms, so many choices of yummy breakfasts and Sally is a wonderful hostess and lovely lady. Relaxing beauty salon too. I would not have any hesitation in choosing Thorpe House again or in recommending it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Only had experience of Emerson and Arlington, which are at the rear of the property, but the Thorpe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braga, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I booked a couple of nights at this B&B without knowing anything about it and was very much surprised with how good it was! Very good room with a great bathroom. Breakfast was also very good with a lot of choices and always served in the room. The area is quiet and easy to park a car if you have one. The hosts are very friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

stayed for 2 days as part of business trip. never really stayed at a small B&B before. warm reception, good parking, cozy room, comfortable bed. Good ensuite bathroom. breakfast was included and was much better than your usual hotel slosh.

all in all, would return and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffinshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nottingham hotels
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
2.3 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 49 in Nottingham
610 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#5 of 49 in Nottingham
1,442 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Westminster Hotel
2.6 mi away
Lace Market Hotel Nottingham by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Thorpe House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 7 Albemarle Road, Nottingham NG5 4FE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Nottingham
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing