We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big party of friends and still fast service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kayal

Kayal
Ranked #32 of 1,405 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Kayal - The first authentic Kerala seafood speciality - has become the most popular of its kind to the people of Britain and this family run group of restaurant has become a favourite with dedication and passion for good food. Numerous awards and recognitions proved them distinctive to the normal fellow restaurants. 'Healthiest Restaurant Award' proved that Kayal do care about healthy food. Kayal is all about tradition, qualities, discoveries, fresh ingredients and aromas. Facilities: Entertaining Clients, Groups, Private Dining, Reservations, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Dessert and Bar Scene.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Big party of friends and still fast service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We went for a colleague's leaving do, so there was a big group of us. The service was very fast and attentive, and food was fantastic. Fantastic food, and not your typical Indian, as there's not a Naan or Tikka Masala in sight. I had a Masala Dosa, which was lovely, a lentil pancake filled with beautifully spiced vegetables. My partner had Cheera Erachi Curry, which is a beautiful lamb dish. The lamb was so tender, it melted in your mouth. We also shared a Mutter Paneer, which was lovely but very spicy! One of our party ordered an Appam (soft rice pancakes) that got forgotten, so she was given complimentary chapathis while they were made. A lovely meal, I plan to visit again and recommend that you do. Not 5/5 as it is a little expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    174
    55
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but there are better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The decor and service at this restaurant are good but the menu is a little small. The reason my review is under 4 stars is due to not being told about cashew nuts and (I believe) mango in the recipe. Good if you are going for a party. Average price.
Chennai is better for South Indian food and cheaper.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dreamy Dhosa Diner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have just returned to Kayal two years after I first stumbled on it during a business trip. As good as last time, top quality business lunch. Pure,clean tasting thali type presentation with delicious Kerala side dishes and a Lamb Saag. Best of all though are the huge,delicate and tasty Dhosas so unlike the soggy thick pancakes so often sold under this name in other restaurants. The Leicester branch was just as good and both have very individual artistic interiors. Many healthy and vegetarian options on the menu. Well done!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have visited the Kayal three times now and each time have found the staff and service very good. the food is very tasty with subtle flavours and spices. there are a good selection of dishes and if you are not sure about any of them the staff will help with very good descriptions and advice. our main course "Meen Porichatu" marinated whole sea bass stuffed with prawn chutney went very well with the spicy tomatoes and lemon rice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dsmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great main course, average starter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I visited this restaurant recently with some family members, and was very impressed. The main course was delicious, the service was excellent and the price was very reasonable. The only negative I would say was that the starters we chose were bland and pretty much tasteless. Overall I would definitely like to return however.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonny_Seagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayal also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Kayal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing