We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Igloo Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Nottingham(Nottingham)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lindum House(Nottingham)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stage Hotel(Nottingham)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
93
48
18
11
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
48
18
11
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictoria bus stationbunk bedsnice kitchenmemory foam mattressshared bathroommain buildingfree tea and coffeecity centrefree wifiother guestsmain receptionhot waterrescue roomsshower roomroom keystayed here for one nightenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 173 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Igloo is centrally located in the city offering a friendly place to stay. The bedrooms are cosy, warm and inviting. Very clean, plentiful hot showers. Spacious kitchen , tea and coffee available at all times and everything you need to prepare meals. Friendly lounge, TV, Internet and free flow of information on noticeboard, " Where to Eat " and monthly "Events" in Nottingham. Car park, free parking.
Cheap and Great value! The next time I visit my son who is studying at the University, I will certainly return to Igloo!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blue599blue599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igloohostel, Manager at Igloo Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thanks for your review! We are very happy to hear that you like what we do here at the Igloo! We hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Other guests were mainly young European backpackers, including several long-term tenants.

The place has a friendly, slightly hippy vibe.

The kitchen had enough to make dinner.

Rooms were clean and tidy. For £16/night I have no complaints, and will use the place again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cornelius1729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igloohostel, Manager at Igloo Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback - it means the world to us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Annexe in a private room, the shared bathroom was fine. The stuff was kind but not so helpfull (they gave us only maps or flyers, not any other advice about places to visit). We were lucky because on saturday there are free car parking outside the main building (it's a private parking without a gate) but during the week it'd be a problem to park your car. Perfect location, a short walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena2185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igloohostel, Manager at Igloo Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Igloo is very clean, conveniently located, and has a caring and attentive staff. If you have more than one piece of luggage per person, it might be best to take a taxi, not the bus, from the train station. We stayed in the annex where the Igloo houses couples and families. The stairs are very narrow and steep; but since we are seniors, the person at the desk helped us with our luggage.

If you are a light sleeper, you should avoid a room on the front of the building; there is some street noise. Otherwise, the rooms include all the necessities and wifi -- get the code when you check in. The kitchen is clean with everything you would need for simple meal preparation.

The Tesco super market is an easy walk from the Igloo, as is the city center. Weekends present many different opportunities for those visiting Nottingham -- you will enjoy them!

Room Tip: In the annex, choose the room on the lowest floor with a window on the alley.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarmerDaveMarble_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igloohostel, Manager at Igloo Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your warm review. It means the world to us that you like what we do :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Clean accommodation and friendly staff. Rooms were modern and with a tv and wifi. Kitchen facilities excellent. Stayed here after completing the Men's Health Challenge and this was the best accommodation for the money by far.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igloohostel, Manager at Igloo Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate every word! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews