We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgraceful.”
Review of Chin Chin

Chin Chin
Ranked #586 of 1,525 Restaurants in Nottingham
Price range: $6 - $31
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

One of the most disgusting meals I have ever had the displeasure of sitting through. I cannot stress enough that nobody in their right minds should go to this restaurant. The food was absolutely shocking. Do not go here.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 31 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2017 via mobile

Booked to have a meal in the Pearl however it had closed staff watched us take our drinks outside to go to the restaurant. Doors were locked so went back into Chin Chin where we were directed to our table. Ordered food & starters & main came out together !!! Not enough room on the table for it all!!! Asked 3 times for prawn crackers for the children came eventually. Complained several times food was good & staff friendly will not return.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank liizzie_hoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017

really couldn't fault my birthday brunch here on Saturday. The booking process was fantastic and Mike made everything very clear and easy. I had 3 vegan friends coming and they were well catered for on the normal menu, which is pretty unusual! The cost for the bottomless prosecco lunch was the best I found, at £29.95 each - we were only expecting small tapas plates, but the three that came were huge! We all couldn't believe how much we got and how delicious it was! I initially looked at going to the Hockley arts club, as have been before, but their booking process didn't allow more than 7 people and the portions are tiny, they also only fill your glass intermittently. Mike gave us 3 bottles between 9 of us, and they were so fast at replacing them once they were finished! (we must have got through at least 12 and it's decent stuff!). The staff were so friendly and showed genuine concern for my vegan friends, showing them the labels of sauces and checking their dishes were okay for them!

Honestly could not recommend Chin Chin enough, the restaurant itself is modern and clean with a lovely atmosphere. Will certainly be going back here! 100% have the wok fried broccoli, amazing!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HannahLBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2017 via mobile

Normally have pre dinner drinks here before dining at the Oriental Pearl. Pornstar's are not on the menu any more but they will do you one if you ask. They often did 2 for 1 happy hours before 8 but they seen to have disappeared since the re-fit. Can get very noisy when busy.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank CliveL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016

Pressure was on to find an ideal location for our Christmas party, we needed a venue that was local, well priced, big enough and which offered us some privacy. Chin Chin delivered on every level.

The staff, from managers to waitresses and bouncers were all helpful, friendly, attentive and ensured we had a brilliant night.

I assumed the food would be nibbles, given we had the £10 buffet but it was more than enough and really was gorgeous.

I would highly recommend the venue for parties - originally we were due to be upstairs but we ended up being downstairs which meant we had the party vibe from the bar but still the privacy we needed.

An all-round excellent venue with a great team.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chin Chin also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Chin Chin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing