We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy pub, good beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kean's Head

The Kean's Head
Ranked #106 of 1,405 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy pub, good beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This pub was a great find - it's a bit off the beaten track so if you don't know it's there you are unlikely to stumble upon it. Good selection of local Castle Rock beers and homemade pork pies in a variety of interesting flavours.

Great atmosphere, good for a quiet drink alone with a book or a chat with friends. I believe I ate there a few years ago now and seem to remember the food being good - the menu is tempting anyway!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EdinExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    40
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pub - like being in someone's living room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Delicious ales, cosy surroundings, convenient location! Definitely worth a try if you like tasty beers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not as good as mine!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Ordered corned beef hash as I thought it would be a bit different. This came with home made beans which were served to me cold. Staff apologised but it did put me off a bit. Husband had burger which he said was very mediocre

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Visit ruined by very un-friendly bar-staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've been going to the Kean's head for drinks and food for the last 5 years and i've generally always had a positive expereince. Great selection of ales and good quality food for a decent price.

My last three visits have been negative as a result of the poor bar service. On my last visit with my partner i was not welcomed by the barman, instead i seemed to have 'put him out' by asking him a question, his mumbled response back was argumentative and almost hostile (sorry from distracting you from your paper). After negotiating through an awkward beer order we sat down at a very drity table (newspaper was obviously very interesting and stopping staff keeping the place clean) to look at the menu. I then returned to the bar at which point the barman continued to act as if i was causing him great inconvenience by placing an order. Totally unacceptable and uneccessary. It doesn't take much to smile and be polite. This has been a consistent expereince for me in recent occassions and each time i have felt increasingly unwelcome. Although i will go back to the Kean's Head, i am already considering shifting allegiance to the Cock and Hoop around the corner!

Pick up your Game Keans!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, england
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Real ale pub with lovely homemade food. A locals hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The kean's head is one of those places that you have to just know where it is, it's hidden down a little ally in the lace market area of town. It's not the prettiest looking place but the beer is real local ale and the food is home cooked and lovely - homemade pies, sausage and mash and some really imaginative veggie food. Advisable to book a table at busy times because its a small place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsZamboni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kean's Head also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Kean's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing