We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food”
Review of Ferry Inn

Ferry Inn
Ranked #152 of 1,537 Restaurants in Nottingham
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Ferry Inn has operated as a pub since the 18th century, named after the ferry through the city which was given a charter during the reign of Edward III. Part of the pub’s building originates as a 14th century farmhouse and The Ferry Inn briefly operated as a coffeehouse during the 18th century fascination with coffee which swept Britain. The Church of St. Wilfrid, which lies just 300 ft from the pub’s entrance, dates from the same period as the farmhouse and is an impressive Grade II listed building notable for its spectacular pointed arch doorway and memorial stained-glass windows honouring Nottingham poet Henry Kirke White. An attractive pub nestled in a scenic corner of Nottingham, The Ferry Inn is a perfect location for relaxing Sunday lunches and delicious pub food.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came into with the family and we were served by Sarah. She couldn't have done more for your table. My grandparents are very old and she was so lovely with them.
Food was good too.
Will be back very soon
Thank you Sarah

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank hungrychef86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Ferry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Hungrychef86, great to hear you enjoyed your visit to Ferry Inn. I’ll be sure to pass on your comments to Sarah & the team.Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have been coming here for a few years now and have never had a bad experience. The atmosphere is really nice on a Saturday night and the food is always delicious. On the last few occasions, we have been seen to by Sarah who is always attentive and really does add to the experience. Keep it up!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Phiminister72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Ferry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited The Ferry yesterday with a large group of family and friends to celebrate my parents 65th Wedding Anniversary taking advantage of the exclusive use of “the barn”. This was a very special occasion and I felt confident that Sam and the team would not let me down and they certainly did not. It was a hot day and all seats inside and out were taken and that is a lot of people. With Dom coordinating in the background and Stef lead by example taking out the food and clearing up it left Nathan helped by whoever had a spare moment to man the bar. As always the staffs attitude was polite, happy and professional. Yes people had to wait a little while for a drink and yes there was a delay for the freshly cooked food but all were made aware when ordering. Unfortunately when you find such a great pub with such great staff it gets popular especially on days when the sun comes out. Thanks to all on playing such a big part in making my parents so happy on what was such a special occasion.

Gary

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank barneybear17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant pub is part of the Chef & Brewer chain operated by Greene King. It’s in Nottingham, but it isn’t separated as it is by the river Trent.

You can get here by tram which is much quicker than the long drive around from the city centre. There’s lots of parking though.

The restaurant is fresh, clean and inviting and comes with table service. The staff were all very attentive.

There are two menus a main one and a specific lunch time menu. There’s lots of choices and we all enjoyed our meals.

As it was a sunny day we finished off in the garden. They have a large garden with lots of seating and tables with shade.

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019 via mobile

Visited the Ferry on tuesday last..food was excellent and Charllotte was fantastic..will certainly be back..

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Extankle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Ferry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to Charlotte & the rest of the team. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferry Inn also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Burton Joyce, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Ferry Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing