We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant bus ride”
Review of Derwent Dam

Derwent Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brilliant bus ride”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have often driven and walked round Derwent Dams but this year a bus driver suggested taking the service bus from Castleton to Sheffield. This service goes past Lady Bower the turns left and goes alongside the Dams and the returns. In the evening this is a very beautiful. Going out from Sheffield take the 272 via Hathersage for the views over Hathersage Valley but the Hulley bus via Derwent is underused and lovely (also a quicker route to city centre)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    89
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Great Britain
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Absolutely beautiful area and the Dam itself just made my jaw drop. To think that The Dambusters flew over this dam to practise, wow. I felt very tiny standing next to it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CACGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dramatic location and beautiful countryside, surrounded in history”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a dramatic location and beautiful countryside in the Pennines in between Manchester and Sheffield. The dams were build provide the substantial amounts of water that the industrial cities of South Yorkshire and the East Midlands demanded in the late 19th century. more recently, well 65 years ago the dams were used to practice for the famous Dam-busters raids of WW2. They were chosen for their similarity to the target dams in Germany. Today there is a Museum at the dam. Also look for the commemorative plaque to 617 Squadron on the dam, and one of the towers on the dam houses the Derwent Valley Museum.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank chrishawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“My favourite place”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We return time and time again, every season is wonderful in its own way. the scenery is beautiful and the area so tranquil

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Gwent
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Away from it all.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and i were on holiday so on out last day we decided to walk a "little" way around Derwent Dam.
When we arrived we were going to park in the car park but we thought it was quite expensive so we drove 50yds back out and parked for nothing . ( thats why i knocked a star off ) understand they have facilities which need up keeping but £3 would be ample for say 4-5 hrs.
Good toilets and visitors centre which has a small kiosk which sells food and drink.
It was nice to walk and not see many people and take in the beautiful scenary, our "little" walk turned into the full 12 mile trek around the dam and out into the woodlands, yes it took a fair while but if you are walking take in the views and enjoy it. We sat down above the dam and ate our lunch and thought of the brave airman who used this dam to practise before the real thing all those years ago.
Not just a lovely walk but a history lesson as well, try it and you will not be dissappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MelvinNewportGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derwent Dam also viewed

Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to Derwent Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing