We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning area for walking or cycling”
Review of Derwent Dam

Derwent Dam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning area for walking or cycling”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We went on a cloudy chilly January morning with low expectations. The parking spot was easy to find and £4.70 for all day was reasonable, although if you're there early enough there are free spots on the approach rd. The scenery is stunning and with a variety of differing walks in the area we will definitely be going again. You can also walk across the top of lady bower dam which is just down the road. All in all a great venue for walkers and cyclists alike.

Helpful?
2 Thank Triggerfish74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    89
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stunning views and very much unspoilt and not over-commercialised. We had a lovely day out here - great for walking and plenty of photo opportunities.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ScoutJacobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Cycling”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Hired bikes from Fairholmes went up past Derwent and Howden dams - perfect day out. Then had to have a bacon sandwich to put the weight back on at the cafe at Fairholmes!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank _TA_Hotel_User_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“dam busters”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

took the bus there. walked back. pover hill n dae too bradfield. was warm sunny and a good run... run? yep dog got of the leash and chased it down.

Helpful?
Thank tafsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Man Made wonder”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My first experience of visiting the Derwent Dam was when i had gone biking. It was a lovely experience and i had the best time.We took the 12 mile route and though my muscles hurt after that , i enjoyed every bit of the clean, fresh air and the ride. The Dam itself is beautiful and very good for a day out. There is a visitor center that would give u information about the Peak district and would provide you with details of all activities etc. a must for anyone willing to take a day out

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Garima R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derwent Dam also viewed

Hathersage, Hope Valley
 

Been to Derwent Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing