We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peak District National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bolehill Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed recently in Bluebell cottage with our dog Jasper. This is our third stay at Bolehill and it won't be our last. The cottage is spotless and comfortable; the location is well place for Bakewell, Matlock and the surrounding area and the nearby village of Moneyash has an excellent pub for good food and hospitality. Chris and Shirley are excellent hosts and you will be made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasper40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris_swaap, Owner at Bolehill Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope Jasper had a good time and enjoyed meeting our dogs. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 211 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have just had another lovely stay at Lathkill cottage on Bolehill Farm. Chris and Shirley were very welcoming and the cottage was again very clean and tidy with all the amenities required. Bolehill Farm is ideally situated in the heart of the Peak District. A must stay location for walkers or people who just like to visit historical places of interest. Visitor attractions include the lovely Chatsworth House and gardens which are only a short drive away. We will be returning again in the near future.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Thanks again Chris and Shirley for making our last visit to Bolehill so welcoming. It's such a lovely peaceful location. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable. All that one needs. There is plenty to suit all ages in and around that area whether it is walking, cycling or just sightseeing. We've lost count of how many times we have stayed here. It's like a magnet to us, just draws us back time after time.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Thank you chris and shirley for another wonderful stay at your dove cottage this is our third visit and definatley not our last everything was perfect as usual spotless clean cant wait to come back

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed in Dove cottage which was perfect for the two of us. Chris and Shirley are very friendly and welcoming, and the facilities were great. The cottage was really well-appointed for a holiday let and it was exceptionally clean, spotless in fact.
The location is really good as you are close enough to all the amenities in Bakewell, yet it is still a lovely, peaceful spot. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had a self catering cottage here. It was clean and fantastic. It had much more than I would expect from self catering including some tea & coffee, hair dryer, wifi and a dish washer (which we never used for just the two of us.)
There is also a games room with a PC and a pool table and some benches in the court yard to just relax on.There is also a washing machine & tumble dryer if required. other nice touches are a a place to wash your boots or dogs (this is walikg country) and they have a reception which is mostly manned and where Chris or Shirley have lots of info about the various walks and attractions in the area. It was good value and we did not really need anything else but I was left with impression that if we did John & Shirley would help.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalEssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This was our second visit to Bolehill and our second stay in Lathkill cottage. Bolehill a former working farm enjoys a wonderfully peaceful location in the beautiful Derbyshire dales. Close to many places to visit, see and eat at. A genuine warm welcome greets you at this very well maintained former farm. My mother (87) coped very well, with all the facilities in this well presented and comfortable cottage. Chris and Shirley continue to work hard at making the site as "green" as is practically possible. We are hoping to visit again in the not too distant future. A very good place to stay for visiting the Derbyshire dales, can fully recommend the Chatsworth House farm shop.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelmanwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peak District National Park hotels
2.0 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.9 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
403 reviews
10.8 mi away
Rushop Hall
Rushop Hall
#2 of 6 in Castleton
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
4.7 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
7.5 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolehill Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolehill Farm Cottages

Address: Bole Hill Farm Monyash Road | Near Bakewell, Peak District National Park DE45 1QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Peak District National Park
Price Range: $40 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Peak District Cottages are located just 2 miles from the Derbyshire Town of Bakewell in the Peak District National Park. The 8 cottages are located in a courtyard setting within 20 acres of grounds. Chatsworth and Haddon Hall are no more than 10 mins away. Our grounds looks towards Lathkill Dale and it is an easy walking to the villages of Over Haddon and Sheldon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing