We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Bolehill Farm Cottages”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peak District National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bolehill Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We have stayed in three different cottages at Bolehill Farm and always found them to be cosy and warm and very inviting after a long walk.We have always found Chris and Shirley friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raven63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 217 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2011

Have been enjoying Chris' and Shirley's hospitality since they first opened, eight years ago, visiting two or three times a year. We like the fact that the cottages are always clean, comfortable and very well equipped and the wi-fi helps us catch up on the work we should have done before we left home!! The welcome is always warm and helpful. The cottages are peaceful and well away from the road and we have never been aware of noise from fellow visitors. The situation is ideal for walks or visits to stately homes. Heating is excellent when it is cold - we enjoyed a large famly gathering over three cottages in the depths of winter - the outside tables and seating is fine when it is hot. Only problem (for some) is that pubs are beyond easy walking distance - so a non-drinking driver is required. Overall highly recommended.

Room Tip: Dove is excellent for two - worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

we have just returned from Bolehill Farm Holiday Cottages having stayed for a week with our dog Mozart in the Dove Cottage! what a lovely charming establishment,great views of the countryside,peace and quiet and with execeptional owners who a very keen walkers like us have a great sense of humour,and also have two beautiful blue merle collies named blue and smudge who are very friendly indeed! the cottages have central heating,internet access.modern equipped kitchens and tastefully furnished.Bolehill also has to offer laundry facilities, leisure area with a sauna and a paddock to exercise dogs(pet friendly)it is central to others areas to visit.you can complete walks from the door to Monyash and Lathkill Dale.thank you shirley,chris, blue and smudge for making our holiday a memorable one, we will be definitely returning soon love to see Bolehill in the snow.if its peace and quiet you are looking for on your holiday this is the place to be!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozartRhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Bolehill in a fantastic location but. If it is cold don't get back to your cottage until after 16:00 hours as the owner controls the heating.
Its set back from the road so when driving up to the farm yard theres a good chance that the entrance will be blocked by a herd of cattle and you will have had to drive through cattle manure.
They say that they are animal friendly !! Well the road entrance has a cattle grid and lifting a large dog over it is no fun.
The designated dog paddock is rather like an assult course. The grass need cutting and there are pieces of the surrounding stone walls ready to twist the careless walker

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerwentWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris_swaap, Owner at Bolehill Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you for your constructive review of Bolehill Cottages. We always welcome feedback and hope that it improves our service to future guests. Just a few comments I would like to make regarding your review:

- Our cottage heating is monitored at all times by our environmental control system. The heating in all occupied cottages is always ‘on’ and ‘Out of hours’ it ensures the cottages never drop below 16C. During all other hours the cottages are controlled by the guests. The ‘out of hours’ period can be adjusted and as stated in all our literature you only have to ask and we will make adjustments (as some guests do). I don’t understand how the heating wasn’t sufficient for July.
- We don’t have a ‘farm yard’ any longer as the premises haven’t been used for farming for 40 years. I assume you are referring to the car park and courtyard which are inaccessible to cattle.
- The few cattle (usually expectant mothers) we have in our 20 acres of fields are owned by the farm opposite. We encourage the farm to use our three fields to provide our guests with the experience of having cattle nearby. Most of our guests are delighted with this. Cattle are extremely inquisitive and if they are in the tarmac drive field and there is activity in the car park they do have a bad habit of milling around the tarmac entrance. This unfortunately does sometimes leave a mess which is usually cleared by myself or the rain and is in general not a major problem.
- The lack of access for dogs at the cattle grid at the bottom of the drive is a problem we are aware of. There are, however, a number of other access points to the road. For some time we have been working on a plan to enable dogs to cross it without letting the cattle or sheep (winter time) on to the road. We hope to have a solution in place this summer.
- The ‘dog paddock’ is intentionally left to grow naturally (usually no more than 12inches) to encourage wildlife and to reduce our environmental footprint. We allow the cattle in to ‘mow’ it, two to three times a year. Unfortunately the nature of dry stone walls is such that they occasionally collapse. We are constantly rebuilding them but I agree, you do need to be cautious near them.

I regret that your experience of our facilities at Bolehill Farm Cottages did not match your expectation, and I apologise for any shortcomings. We do try and ensure our guests enjoy their stay and with 35% of our guests being ‘returning’ guests, I assume we are providing the ideal rural environment that they seek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I was treated by my parents to a weeks stay at Bolehill Farm with my partner from Australia. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay there, from warm smiles on our arrival to the comfiest bed Ive ever slept in (I nearly took the mattress home with me!) and the overwhelming elegance Bolehill has to offer!.

The weather we had was pretty grim, but it made staying inside our cozy cottage (Bluebell) all the more rewarding. Full of home comforts (great assortment of cooking equipment and books) and gorgeous views of the Derbyshire countryside we were quite content to sit in and play the board games on offer and even ventured across the pebbles to win a few game of table tennis in the games room.

From a drivers perspective the location of Bolehill is really great. Totally secluded in the countryside, but still only a 4 minute drive from beautiful Bakewell.

I cant speak highly enough of this place, it was just such a relaxing and peaceful stay, with really friendly, lovely owners and I cant wait to go back.

Also note the Internet wi-fi is very quick, which was essential as I couldn't go without facebook for to long!

I will recommend to everyone

Jonathan (aged 24)
(www.jonathancox.co.uk)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathanpdcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

The Crown referred to above is the Peak District and if you are seeking an idyllic rural setting of self catering accomodation then Bolehill Farm Cottages are gemstones.

Located just over 2 miles west of Bakewell this small complex of 8 cottages, owned and managed by Chris and Shirley Swaap, afford the ideal 'get away from it all' short or long stay holiday. Situated in a stunning secluded rural setting you can enjoy as many, or as little of the outdoor and cultural pursuits the Peak District has to offer - the choice is yours. Expend energy or chill out, drive or walk to enjoy the sights - Bolehill will satisfy all expectations.

My wife and I have just returned from staying for a week in 'Dove', a charming cottage for two, one of several repeat visits. Visit Bolehill Farm's website to view the layout and specification of this cottage and all the others. Standards are excellent and reflect the care and attention to detail Chris and Shirley strive to achieve.

The latter is effected in a quiet and efficient way, nothing is too much trouble, they genuinely seem to care about their guests whose enjoyment and satisfaction is paramount to them. If required, they will offer a wealth of practical advice and guidance about the local area and amenities based on practical first hand experience and knowledge themselves.

If you want 'time out' from the rat race or merely a change of scene to relax then Bolehill offers it.

'Smudge and Blue', Chris and Shirley's 2 border collies will greet you on arrival and wave a paw on departure in expection you will return. My wife and I are already planning our next visit to this 'value for money' proposition - the UK at its best.

In summary, if self catering quality accomodation in the White Peak area of Derbyshire is what you seek, then Bolehill delivers - 'A superb holiday experience' - don't miss it!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Entrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Recently returned from our first visit to Bolehill staying in Bluebell cottage. Lovely place lovely area, lovely people. Would most definitely return. Thank you Shirley and Chris.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamaraNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peak District National Park hotels
10.7 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
5.2 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
740 reviews
5.7 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
2 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
429 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheldon's Retreat B&B
Sheldon's Retreat B&B
#1 of 1 in Sheldon
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolehill Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolehill Farm Cottages

Address: Monyash Road | Bole Hill Farm Bakewell, Peak District National Park DE45 1QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Peak District National Park
Price Range: $42 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Peak District Cottages are located just 2 miles from the Derbyshire Town of Bakewell in the Peak District National Park. The 8 cottages are located in a courtyard setting within 20 acres of grounds. Chatsworth and Haddon Hall are no more than 10 mins away. Our grounds looks towards Lathkill Dale and it is an easy walking to the villages of Over Haddon and Sheldon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing