We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit & would return again....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peak District National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Harthill Hall after staying in Henry's Haunt in 2006. This time 14 of us stayed in The Barn with family travelling from all over the country. And every single one of us had a great time. To manage peoples expectations here's some pros & cons:

Pros - Great games room with Wii provided - kids kept occupied all the time, fully equipped kitchen with enough plates, glasses, cooking pots etc for us all, made a full sunday roast. Great communal living space with comfy chairs. Hot tub provided. Staff helpful on arrival and when we struggled with oven (our lack of knowledge!!) Fantastic views and walks direct from Hall, location perfect for trips out to Chatsworth House, Bakewell, Heights of Abraham and Gullivers World.

Cons - Some of the ensuites are a bit small, but adequate. Table a bit of a squeeze for all of us - but managable and we all eat round it sat and sun eve. Pool was a bit cold (so I was told!) even kids found it a bit cold but you could soon warm up in the hot tub.

Overall I would encourage people not to be put off by other reviews, we really did have a good time and our main objective to have all the family together having fun was definatelt met.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank karon_edmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 154 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in the Chapel property and really loved its charm and character. Yes it was a little dark inside, but this is to be expected when you stay in a building built centuries ago! It was cosy, clean and comfortable, lovely furniture, everything worked and it was very well equipped. the welcome pack of food was a nice surprise!

The location is beautiful, only a few miles from Bakewell which has everything you might need. It's quiet and peaceful without feeling isolated.

The private hot tub and private use of the swimming pool and sauna were a welcome feature. These were also extremely clean and well maintained. Although the staff were not always obvious, they were around if you needed anything and were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

These buildings are very handsome and are in a lovely location, however we stayed in one of the barn conversions and felt that it was overpriced and a bit tatty, there was evidence of wear and poor repairs-dishwasher, etc. In order to justify the price, the place could do with a make over, perhaps the conversion was done a good few years ago. 2nd double bedroom was very small and cramped, almost claustrophobic, as was 2nd bathroom. Hot tub was fun, swimming pool tatty[rotten window frames, pool cover tatty and dirty] and very small and the sauna didn't really work, wasn't hot enough.
We were shouted at by one of the owners-"Get away from our drive way!!' when we were merely passing with our dog on a lead. Very imperious, seem to forget that we were paying guests with a right to be where we were. However the staff were helpful and pleasant. Maybe the other properties are better than Cockanynes, we also booked quite late and so were limited on choice.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank handbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harthill, Owner at Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Thank you for your review, as the owner a just wanted to confirm that we really do value your custom and would not be so rude we think you may have walked passed our neighbours gateway, sorry about that, the layout of the buildings we can do little about due to being in the National Park, the swimming pool and changing rooms have been completely refurbished, the pool cover wears rather quickly but and appears dirty but isn't, the sauna has been checked and is working correctly, the instructions for use are just in the doorway and also the lead guest is always explained how best to operate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We booked via LateRooms. Drove for 3 hours in the pouring rainlooking forward to the week-end. Wanted it to be lovely. Horrid place;notes all over the place dont do this and dont do that a faulty towers feel. We were allocated Manners. I agree with all the other comments on this. It was dark,very poorly lit and very poorly furbished. I live in a older property so can accept the lack of perfection. But this is a grubby little place and the office is a gypsy wagon and sums up the entire feel of the place. We left soon after arrival and did recieve our money back but the owner was angry BUT I had no intention of paying to stay in a dump. We got back in our car and drove home in the pouring rain; it it had been even moderately acceptable we would have stayed. Dont stay here its an overpriced grubby little place.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
6  Thank Martin39_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harthill, Owner at Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Unfortunately we were unable to lay on better weather this guest did not check in and was given a full refund as they were clearly not happy and were most rude about the property to our hard working staff, the property in question Manners is the very same one reviewed on the 21st December “Had a great time in manners” please read both reviews to make an informed decision.
The client in question never met the owners only the manager and housekeeping team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We booked the Barn as the website made it look great and we were not disappointed, the outdoor hot tub was much appreciated, we were hoping for a quiet relaxing get together and was concerned about noise from the other properties onsite but it was perfect the only noise was our own, One DIY meal was achieved thanks to Lucy the Domestic queen who didn’t even use the hostess trolley (didn’t know they still made them!).

The Barn is quite modern which I personally like some of the other girls would have preferred The Manor House after Chris and Gina (the managers) giving us a full guided tour, It looked a bit spooky for me. Saturday Morning our toaster didn’t seem to work a quick call and we were provided with a brand new one, great service provided by a really nice couple.



Pool, Sauna and Treatments were very nice especially enjoyed the private use, much nicer than swimming with strangers.



Saturday night the caterers came in and cooked up a fantastic 3 course meal which was beautifully served, they did all the washing up and left the kitchen ready for Sunday morning.



Bakewell is very pretty with lit Christmas trees, and it has lots of pubs !

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJade_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harthill, Owner at Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Thank you for this review of the Barn, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to another visit in the future, your review could not be further from
'A colossal rip-off. If we could give this a zero 18th February'
who stayed in the same property the Barn just after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

For the first time in over 30 years we had the entire family together for Christmas. We spent 3 nights at this dump staying in The Barn facility which was advertised as "the perfect place for a family reunion or wedding and able to accommodate 12 or more comfortably" -- WHAT A JOKE!

The facilities were less than acceptable and the customer service was even more atrocious. These include the following shortcomings....
1) the kitchen appliances didn't work - dishwasher couldn't even clean the dishes and the staff accused us of overloading.
2) the kitchen was small and could not accommodate a family of 12 let alone a family of 6.
3) the oven was old and all the instructions on the dial had worn off rendering cooking a christmas meal next to impossible
4) the walls in the rooms were paper thin, you could hear EVERYTHING coming from the other rooms. The rooms also were gloomy and dark.
5) the closets and baths in the rooms were of low/no standard.
6) the entry way smelled of mildew due to the downstairs refrigerator unit had leaked prior to our visit
7) the refrigerator downstairs had no shelving rendering food storage impossible
8) the bedding in the rooms was cheap and uncomfortable

When these shortcomings were pointed out during and after our stay the staff was less than helpful. In fact they were surly and completely unaccommodating. For the amount of money we paid for this dump you would think the accommodations, staff, and experience would have been more pleasant. But it was not.

Warning, this place is a rip-off of extreme proportions. Can't speak to the other cottages at this facilities, but The Barn is a dump.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms. The walls are paper thin, dark and gloomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Valtoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harthill, Owner at Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

We are not surprised to have received this review as although this customer/party's only complaint onsite was the dishwasher not working which was in fact as pointed out by our housekeeper at 8pm christmas eve just simply overloaded with dishes plates and glasses used in the kitchen appliances that didn't work ! having stayed for he entire let, they have since requested a refund that we have refused, please see also reviews
“Brill Girly Weekend in the Barn –December 2011”
“THE PLACE IS ABSOLUTLY AMAZING...”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We are 2 couples that have recently enjoyed a lovely 4 night stay in Manners. We had initially told Chris the manager that we would be arriving early evening but unforeseen circumstances meant that we didn't arrive until about midnight. Chris had been coming to the cottage regularly throughout the night to trigger the heating (which is on a sensor) to ensure it was warm for our arrival. So our first impressions were of a lovely warm cosy cottage!! Great cottage decorated in antique rustic style and the goodies left for us went down a treat! Prime location for exploring the peak district and we all said we would definitely return! thanks Chris you made us feel very welcome!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CookieBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harthill, Owner at Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Thank you for your review, all our staff work really hard to make your stay perfect in every way and they are so delighted to have received your positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Peak District National Park hotels
10.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
5 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#2 of 2 in Baslow
720 reviews
2.1 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
6.8 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
930 reviews
9.8 mi away
Longnor Wood Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages

Address: Alport | Near Bakewell, Peak District National Park DE45 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Peak District National Park
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Harthill Hall Holiday Cottages Hotel Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing