We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Hall Inn
Nearby Hotels
$256
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$304
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Hathersage)
$180
$171
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$228
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveler rating
288
46
12
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
46
12
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadthe pubbeer festivalsteakpeak districtminstrels galleryhis teamtwo nightspuddingbeer gardensister pubhigh qualityreal alefruit saladwhitebaitfood was fantasticlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 353 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Excellent food , cosy rooms, real ale and a really helpful family team , make this a great place to stay in the High Peak.

1  Thank LesandMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for the review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We decided on The Old Hall, having chosen the pub through the Alistair Sawday guide, which is pretty reliable when choosing accommodation. We were not disappointed. From our greeting by a young lady who was "manning" the bar, to our farewells after an early breakfast three days later, everyone made us feel like special guests, for whom nothing was too much trouble. We deliberately chose a venue where we could walk directly into the hills from the accommodation, and were provided with maps and information on routes to take, nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate is provided in the rooms, and extra supplies are provided, as is fresh milk, if you don't like UHT. Our room was warm and comfortable, and the bed a dream to sleep on, in fact we pulled back the sheets to find out what make of bed it was, and are now considering buying the same mattress, it was so comfortable. It was lovely to spend our evenings eating in the old hall, after a days hiking in the hills. All our meals were delicious, and on the final day we had the best mint and pea risotto ever, and finished off with sticky toffee pudding, and the mango and passion fruit cheesecake, both were sublime. The Old Hall fully deserves its' glowing recommendations. If we ever return to The Peak District, this is where we will be staying. Thank you team for a very memorable visit.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Creuse23430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Old Hall Inn and the location was good for walking the Peak District and touring around the area.
We arrived a little bit early and were shown up to our room which was ready. The food was good pub grub, the breakfast menu was varied and it was good. However, having to decide the evening before not always such a good idea, and also having to specify when you wanted breakfast was on a couple of days a bit of a pain, as plans change and sometimes you wake up hungrier than you think and may want to go to breakfast a bit earlier than anticipated the night before.
Prior to arriving we asked if we would be able to have packed lunches provided and thermos flasks filled ready for a days walking. We mentioned this to Dan the first evening and he said they would be able to provide something although as we were there at the end of the Beer and Cider festival provisions would be a bit low. That wasn't a problem for us. At breakfast we presented the lady with our thermos flasks and mentioned about the packed lunches, unfortunately she wasn't aware of our request. No problem though we were given food and flasks filled.
The following morning we asked again for lunch and thermos, although this was done we were told we should have ordered it the night before,(although that hadn't worked previously) our mistake I guess, but would have been good to know we should do that. Again we had the same packed lunch, which was fine but would have been nice to have something different in the roll.
We had room number 2 which was a good size and the en suite was large with a bath tub and shower over it. The only complaint about the room was that every time someone flushed the loo in the next room the noise was really loud and woke us up during the night. We mentioned this on checking out as it had been particularly bad on the last night. The lady said she would get it looked at so hopefully that will have been resolved. We also had to take the duvet out of the cover as it was way too hot (13.5tog) even with out the bedspread. We had to use the cover as a sheet under the bedspread, it worked though and managed to sleep.
It is a lovely old building, but the dining areas did lack a bit of atmosphere - not sure how to resolve that. It obviously doesn't worry the locals as the place was bombed out just about every evening even after the festival. So that's what is important. We had a couple of nice meals there. The steak and ale puddings are especially lovely. The staff are really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Hopefully room 2 will no longer suffer from noise from neighbouring loo..
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexCoupleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for the review. Sorry for the confusion with the pack lunches. Its not something we ordinarily offer, and hence the confusion from our side. We will always to endeavour to fulfil any requests however.

Regards
Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We returned to The Old Hall Inn to see family and friends,and for their annual beer and cider festival! Brilliant few days!This is a lovely old 15 th century inn . Dan and the gang have made this place a delight.Excellent food and service.The staff are very friendly.All the rooms are comfy and well decorated.Opposite there is the Paper Mill that opened up last year.Dan has lots of exciting plans for the future. Great place for a week end break with lots of beautiful walks in the area!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank ElsieR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We are proud that a good majority of our guests are guests who have stayed with us before. Thank you for continuing to post reviews. Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have stayed for two nights last week and again for two nights this week, in "The Paper Mill" which is just across the road. Its splendid. Clean, well appointed, beautifully quiet, and with excellent breakfasts. Most of all the entire staff team are so helpful and friendly without in any way appearing too "corporate" or artificial --- from finding me some bread and cheese to have when I arrived through to the glorious log fire in the bar it was a real treat. Very good value for money from my perspective and somewhere to treasure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theocsbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed you two visits and hope to see you again soon. Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews