We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding inn in the beautiful High Peak. A real gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Hall Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Old Hall Inn
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding inn in the beautiful High Peak. A real gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for a family event. The room was spacious, spotless, cosy and well appointed, and the welcome warm and friendly. Amazing breakfast in a 16th century timbered hall complete with minstrels gallery. Superb dinner both nights with great wines. All round brilliant value. Wish all British B and Bs were like this. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sshurmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Thank you for your great review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we will see you again soon. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    38
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
40
154
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Husbands Bosworth, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights with the intention of sampling other local restaurants and pubs, but we didn't venture any further than the Old Hall Inn. The food, staff and selection of beers were all amazing - couldn't fault anything. We would certainly return and would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing break. Thank you Dan and your team. Please let us know when the baby arrives :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for the great review, i'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Keep in touch with us on Old Hall's Facebook. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our stay at the old all inn couldn't have been better. We planned a weekend walking and the hotel was ideally situated for this. The hotel itself is a lovely old building. The room was warm and clean. The food was great and the staff very friendly and efficient. There is also another pub in the small village which is owned by the same people who own the old hall.

Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 744Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for the great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for the mention of our other Pub, the Paper Mill Inn which offers more ales, Belgium beers, live sports and lots of real fires to get cosy next to. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

1st time at Old Hall and we would highly recommend it. We stayed for 3 nights and the twin room was comortable The staff were lovely and the range of ales excellent All 3 evening meals were delicious and the steak and kidney pie was to die for.The full english Breakfasts were enormous and kept us full all day . Location is excellent as the walking is beautiful but many other things to do if weather is poor. Overall excellent Inn which is very good value for money worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thanks for the great review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longniddry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

2nd time staying at the old hall inn,we will be back again.as before everthing 1st class,never tried the steak+kidney pud,but the rib eye was the best i have ever tasted,we stayed 3 nights+each meal was excellent.breakfasts were just as good.the bed was the most comfortable bed ever.room was spotless,staff friendly,please replenish the auchentoshan dan

Room Tip: room 4 has a balcony,nice outlook onto garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank george d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for the review, it was great to have you back. The auchentoshan, i've been told will be another 10years or so before the next distillation is complete. Weather my supplier is having me on or not I don't know...we have some tempting alternatives...

Dan : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

we came back yesterday from the old hall inn Chinley, and can't say enough about how friendly all the staff were, how good the food was, what a good Sunday night quiz there was, and all set in a beautiful location. What a little gem and with the most comfy of beds, and more importantly superbly comfy pillows.we can highly recommend it ,thank you all.

Room Tip: we had room 3 a tad on the small side but oh so comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks for the review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

A fine pub run by very pleasant and helpful staff and management. An impressive range of draught beers, fine wines, and a good restaurant, all at very reasonable prices. Village is very pleasant although neighbouring town is not so interesting (but you don't have to go there!). Dining room is ancient and exquisite. The history is on the wall (reading it is a challenge!). Rooms are adequate, although lack of an iron and board was inconvenient (although one is available upon request-not easy in a pub). Nice beer garden and lack of TV and gambling machines in bar add to the pub's charm (you can watch the sports channels in the pub across the road if you really need to-it's under the same ownership).

Room Tip: The steak and kidney pudding is fantastic: an awesome meal. However, book it well ahead of time beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADO10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCapper, Manager at Old Hall Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your great review. In regards to an iron & board we do have one available on request, but find 95% of the time we have house keeping iron the item for you. Of course sometimes guest prefer to iron their own, and we would provide the iron & board promptly. We hope you will stay with us again soon. dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peak District National Park
13.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
5.5 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
11.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.0 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
14.6 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall Inn

Property: Old Hall Inn
Address: Whitehough, Peak District National Park SK23 6EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Peak District National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Hall Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There can be few places more quintessentially English than a country inn and in this area none more so than the Old Hall Inn. Voted Derbyshire Pub of the Year & and winner of Best Cask Pub in the East Midlands at the Great British Pub Awards, it positively exudes a warm welcome and the promise of fine local ale and excellent food. Steeped in history, this family run, 16th-century inn located in the heart of the Peak District also offers excellent en-suite accommodation in beautiful country surroundings. The young team at the Old Hall, take great pride in what we have to offer and take satisfaction in making any stay, long or short one to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Old Hall Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing