We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss the Hadrian's Wall if you are in Scotland or England”

Hadrian's Wall Ltd. - Day Tours
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Do not miss the Hadrian's Wall if you are in Scotland or England”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Hadrian’s Wall is Europe’s largest surviving Roman monument. I suspect too many tourists are simply missing out the opportunity to visit this magnificent remnant. Yes, it involves some walking/hiking. If you can still handle the exercise, I recommend the Hadrian's Wall to all. We went there right after a shower, the slopes were muddy and slippery at some points. Even so, we could handle it on Mar 31, 2014.

If you cannot drive there, there is always the option of joining a tour. It's worth it even though the Hadrian's Wall cannot be compared to the Great Wall of China, structurally speaking.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RaymondHua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic day trip”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We booked the safari tour with Gary. It was fantastic and exceeded our expectations. Gary is extremely knowledgable about the history of the wall and the Roman Empire and is great at bringing the history to life. He took us to places we could not have accessed on our own. He is also very friendly and personable and passionate about the subject. I strongly recommend the safari tour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hadrian's Wall”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Gary and Tracy were excellent pilgrim guides for a college group from the Univ. of N. Carolina-Chapel Hill. Breakfast every morning was a feast, and the lunches absolutely scrumptous. They were helpful in taking down our camp sites each morning as we took off to walk along Hadrian's Wall, and then building our camp site for that evening's rest. Hospitality by this dynamic duo was wonderful. Kudos to this team!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden, Tenn
Level Contributor
374 reviews
129 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable Day”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Touring Hadrian's Wall with Gary Reed is a once-in-a-lifetime treat. He is extremely knowledgeable and able to effectively communicate that knowledge. The wall and its story are compelling. Even if your interest is only moderate book the whole day tour as you will come away enthralled. I cannot recommend this tour experience too highly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank civilwarguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hadrian's Wall Ltd. planned a 3 day walk along Hadrian's Wall for us. All the plans went perfectly. Tracey and Gary reserved 4 bed and breakfasts for us along the wall. Each one was first rate with charming, helpful hosts. Our bags got moved each day to our net accommodation. The package they sent us with information on our accommodations, how to get to our first bed and breakfast and information to hike along the wall were invaluable. We also had arranged for Gary to be our guide for a day of the hike. His knowledge of the Wall-it's history,natural history of the area and advice on the need to lighten the load in our day packs was invaluable to out Hiking the Wall experience. He suggested we go to the Roman Army Museum and Vindolanda Fort, both of which gave us insight into the Roman experience along Hadrian's Wall. A great experience all around.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Maura and Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hadrian's Wall Ltd. - Day Tours also viewed

Northumberland, England
Northumberland National Park, Northumberland
 
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Northumberland National Park, Northumberland
 

Been to Hadrian's Wall Ltd. - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing