We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful perfection.”

Review of Hesleyside Huts

Heather - One of our original traditional Shepard's Huts
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heather - One of our original traditional Shepard's Huts
Bracken Heather
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Heather - One of our original traditional Shepard's Huts
Bracken
Heather
Bracken
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
elkapitan...
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful perfection. ”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (two adults and a 5 year old) booked the Bramble for 5 nights.

If like being close to nature but not actually "in it" then the Hesleyside Huts might be for you.

If you would like to go camping but don't like the thought of being cold, wet, uncomfortable at night, not having a shower or proper toilet handy then the Hesleyside Huts are definitely for you!

Don't assuming the huts are like an outdoor hotel room though. You still need to be able to look after yourself - cook meals in a compact environment with limited utilities, light a wood burner to stave off the chill (in the colder months) etc etc. but compared to actually camping in a tent, even a big posh one the Hesleyside huts are sooo much better.

Comfy proper beds, en-suite shower and proper flushing toilet, running (drinkable) water, [limited] electricity, indoor cooking, pans, plates and cutlery all contribute to making the outdoor experience that bit more enjoyable.

You'll be surrounded by birds and live stock (dozens of lovely lambs in the spring). On a clear night you'll have an incredible star filled sky to gaze at. Lovely walks on your doorstep and plenty of places nearby to visit and activities to enjoy.

All the huts are compact but the Bramble is large enough for two adults and one small child to co-exist for a few days without going crazy even if the weather limits leaving the hut.

Pack light (there isn't much storage for clothing/coats) but appropriate outdoor gear for the time of year and you'll be fine.

If you're after a quiet romantic get-away or a (small) family holiday break with a difference then you should definitely consider booking yourself a hut!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_S_2011
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed December 14, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed during December (stayed in Bracken) as part of our wedding anniversary celebrations. The Shepherds hut are a pure delight. Beautifully appointed and very cosy even with snow and frost on the ground.

The little treats were a great surprise (marshmallows and a bag of sweets) and everything has been thought about. The pre-ordered breakfast basket was fantastic and amazingly good value. Fruit juice, milk, muesli, croissants, bread, butter, marmalade, bacon sausages and eggs all for £15. Then you get the added joy of cooking it on the wood burner. Fantastic.

The suggested walks around the estate are great and we saw birds of prey and a couple of deer running through the woods.

We went to Kielder Observatory on our first night and witnessed the fantastic dark skies of Kielder on a very clear and starry night. You must try to book an event at the Observatory if you can. The second evening was overcast so we did not manage to get the most from the telescope that was kindly left for us in the hut.

We would thoroughly recommend staying if you can. We hope to return at some point in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing Shepherds Hut
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2014
So glad that you had a lovely stay with the added bonus of a dark starry night - Happy Christmas !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurakane
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat!”
Reviewed November 28, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just returned from an amazing stay at Hesleyside, the huts are a work of art with all of the amenities for a perfect getaway in the country! The stove and campfire were our favourite - keeping us nice and cosy! Not a bad drive from the North East and surprisingly easy to find (even in pitch black!) The treats on arrival were an added bonus and the tips on getting out about about were particularly helpful. We couldn't reccommend these enough... Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2014
So glad that you had a lovely stay thank you for the feedback and hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichandSh...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed November 28, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

At truly memorable stay at 'Bramble' the larger of the three huts at Hesleyside. The attention to detail and craftsmanship that went into the construction of the huts was exceptional and every comfort had been catered for. We enjoyed three wonderful nights and particularly enjoyed firing up the wood burning stove to enjoy a cosy meals by a roaring fire.

Our bed was probably the most comfortable we have ever slept in and the hut was a delight to spend time in. Clear skies above enabled us to take in the spectacular night sky of an evening and we also enjoyed walking around the glorious Hesleyside estate. William and Anna, the owners of Hesleyside, have created a beautiful and unique way of enjoying the best of the outdoor surroundings in luxurious accommodation.

A slight issue with the power supply to our hut on our final evening could not detract from a truly wonderful stay and a visit from William, personally, to apologise for the issue and present us with a bottle of wine and extra logs for the wood burner was really appreciated and sums up the care and attention that went into making our break truly exceptional.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of accommodation and facilities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2014
Ah thank you and again thaks for being so understanding regarding the battery problem - it's all been fixed and we hope that you will come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBM2012
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Adorable!”
Reviewed October 24, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at Hesleyside when we came to Northumberland for the dark nights and to try stargazing. We stayed in Heather and it was incredibly sweet, from the little Belfast sink to the dinky log burner. The hut was very well insulated and heated up quickly, and the little touches such as the homemade cake on arrival and the postcards of the huts made our stay so lovely and comfortable. Whilst we were there my partner proposed and I couldn't think of a more perfect or romantic location for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2014
Huge Congratulations we feel very honoured to have a proposal at Hesleyside - wishing you a long and happy marriage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheens81
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here in September for our wedding anniversary and they were just perfect! The huts have everything you could possibly need. They are so cosy and comfortable. Will will hopefully be returning in jan!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - please do come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed_Bet
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a quite wet October but don't let this put you off. The huts are brilliant and have a little log burner in there as well as facilities to do a bit of basic cooking. There are a few pubs near by, the Hollybush Inn at Greenhaugh which had a lovely wood fire, good beer and a good food menu. There are plenty of walks and fantastic scenery right on the doorstep of the huts as well as Kielder reservoir. Would highly recommend staying in one of these huts and I now see on the website they have a new addition to the shepherds huts so there are 3 in total. Looking forward to booking our next stay next summer with friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner and the overall look
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2014
Thank you for providing some great feedback we do hope to see you again, this time without the rain!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing