We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”

Review of Hesleyside Huts

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Ed_Bet
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a quite wet October but don't let this put you off. The huts are brilliant and have a little log burner in there as well as facilities to do a bit of basic cooking. There are a few pubs near by, the Hollybush Inn at Greenhaugh which had a lovely wood fire, good beer and a good food menu. There are plenty of walks and fantastic scenery right on the doorstep of the huts as well as Kielder reservoir. Would highly recommend staying in one of these huts and I now see on the website they have a new addition to the shepherds huts so there are 3 in total. Looking forward to booking our next stay next summer with friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner and the overall look
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2014
Thank you for providing some great feedback we do hope to see you again, this time without the rain!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c00ky83
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We came across Hesleyside Huts while looking for accommodation for the Kielder Marathon weekend, and they were just what we needed while also giving us something a bit different to your normal weekend stay. We were given plenty of useful information from Anna before our stay to make sure everything went according to plan. Upon arrival at the hut there were lots of things that made us think "nice touch" - thanks! The hut itself is immaculately presented and is like something off the Amazing Spaces programme - it's small but every inch of space is put to good use. The bed makes for a good night's sleep (although take ear plugs if rain is forecast!) and the stove keeps things warm (even if we could do with more practice with fires!). A really unique place to stay in a stunning location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No way of covering the bathroom window!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2014
Thanks for the feedback and we hope you did well in the marathon! Come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomsam
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Amazing place ....a unique stay”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from Hesleyside Huts today that we booked through Canopy and stars.
The unique shepherds hut are made out of local wood from the estate and surrounding area and each bit of woodwork blows you away .
We have been glam ping before and enjoy being independent however we loved our breakfast arriving in a beautiful basket on the first morning containing gorgeous cooked breads , croissants , jams , butter , eggs , bacon ,sausages , fresh milk and fresh orange juice and it lasted us both mornings .
On arrival we had a gorgeous complimentary lemon drizzle cake . We we're recommended in the pack to visit eating places / bars which we did and they were smashing .
We walked into Bellingham village which was about 30 mins lea surely walk and visited the cheviot and that was small and quaint and we had food there too , well recommend it .
We drank at the Hollybush Inn ( please note only open in the day at weekend) at greenhaugh which was quaint with big old fire in but our favourite was the Pheasant at Falston which was an old fashioned pub in the middle of nowhere but the food and surroundings was divine .
The bed in Bracken Hut was the comfiest we have ever slept in and they are toasty warm with or without the stove blasting .
We went for the stars and we were lucky because we saw them and we will never forget how beautiful they are .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole hut !
Liked least: Not being able to flush a toilet ( didn't really bother us )
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldentra...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the Heather hut for 4 nights in August and we had the most amazing time! The hut is set in the middle of a field, near the woods and the beautiful Hesleyside estate. The attention to detail was spotless, the hut itself was super cosy and the bed was extremely comfortable. We cannot recommend this place highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments - we're so glad you enjoyed yourselves, please do come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A L
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Only one night, but one full of wild surprises and great comfort.

Where to start - the hut was little piece of heaven; crisp white linen, deep feather bed and fluffy towels, hot running water, and every comfort, from the beautiful china to the toasting fork and marshmallows.

It sits in an old English wood, with a view which includes the North Tyne Valley, and the mellow old house of Hesleyside, home of the hosts.

While the younger members of the party ran about with squeals of delight exploring all the cupboards and hideyholes, and the wonderful woodland, the grownups discovered how to light the pretty stove (wood, matches and firelighters provided) and how quickly the kettle boils for the first cup of tea.

Later, as the sun set, there was a fire to build in the firepit, and dinner eaten under a starry sky - Hesleyside is within the UK's first Dark Skies Reserve, and the children got to see the milky way for the first time in their lives, and to stare transfixed through the telescope provided!

Finally worn out by fresh air, good food, and exercise the family fell asleep - and woke to birdsong and a basket of local organic breakfast goods brought to the doorstep - milk, eggs, bacon, butter and warm fresh baked croissants.

Will be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful bed.
Liked least: Having to leave the next day
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2014
thank you and do come and stay again with us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caz l
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
“very homely”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Spoke to Anna by phone and email before arrival, but didn't actually get to meet her, as she had already prepared the huts for our arrival. I found her to be lovely and helpful in the contact I had with her beforehand.
We had use of both huts (My parents stayed in one, and my partner, myself and our baby stayed in the other). We found both to be really homely and well laid out. The beds were soooo comfy and snug.
On arrival we found a cake (mmmm) and sweets- a nice touch!
We found the huts by chance on the internet after we had seen Robson Green's Northumberland show talking about the dark sky status they have in the area. Unfortunately it was cloudy so we didn't see any stars (typical!), but we enjoyed the camp fire and a few drinks!
I have to say we were not keen on the toilet- we much prefer a normal flushing toilet, but the shower and everything else was great!
There are some small additions we would suggest to improve the huts- some hooks so you can hang clothes up, a door mat, a normal toilet, and maybe a rail on the side of the raised child bed over the double bed (our baby is 10 mths old and crawls and rolls all over, so we daren't let her sleep up there in case she fell- she slept in between us instead and there was plenty of room for this! She loved the comfy bed and pillows- she made us laugh when we heard her oooohing and ahhhing at how comfy the bed was before she went to sleep)

It sounds like I'm criticising here but I'm really not. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the huts to any of our friends heading up to Northumberland.
Thanks Anna and William for a lovely stay xxx

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabel S
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolute bliss!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

What a fantastic weekend. Everything has been thought of...and more. This was a truly luxurious experience with all the feelings of being in the outdoors yet being in the most cosy, warm, beautiful accommodation. My husband was in his element lighting fires, inside and out, an the feather duvets and big pillows and cushions did it for me! So relaxing. The most delicious lemon cake on arrival and a breakfast basket that lasted us two days! Highly recommended. Can't wait to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: totally chillled out!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2014
So glad you had a relaxing time, do come and stay again for some more R & R!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing