We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese Scones ”
Review of The Refectory Cafe

The Refectory Cafe
Ranked #26 of 129 Restaurants in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Description: The Refectory Cafe is a hidden gem in the bustling market town of Hexham. Situated within the famous grounds of Hexham Abbey, the cafe caters for local and tourists alike, with everything cooked and prepared onsite using local suppliers. A wonderful outdoor seating area in the garden is available where visitors can basque in the view of the Abbey and the Sele park ground. In addition to our standard menu of soups, sandwiches, salads, scones and cakes, we serve a daily special menu and can cater for all kinds of dietary requests.
Restaurant details
Description: The Refectory Cafe is a hidden gem in the bustling market town of Hexham. Situated within the famous grounds of Hexham Abbey, the cafe caters for local and tourists alike, with everything cooked and prepared onsite using local suppliers. A wonderful outdoor seating area in the garden is available where visitors can basque in the view of the Abbey and the Sele park ground. In addition to our standard menu of soups, sandwiches, salads, scones and cakes, we serve a daily special menu and can cater for all kinds of dietary requests.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Call in here on a trip to Hexham
The cheese scones are fabulous a must when you call here and please visit the spectacularAbbey.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Tonet2414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 73 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2019

We spent 3 days in Hexham, and visited the town's magnificent Abbey,

We were pleased to find the Refectory Cafe, where we stopped for tea. The selection of decadent cakes was simply too tempting to pass!

We each had a slice of Victoria Sponge, and went back the following day to try their Carrot Cake - both equally delicious!

The staff were absolutely lovely! I highly recommend this lovely cafe for lunch or a place to rest with a nice cup of coffee or tea.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

Popped in for a latte and a cheese scone. Wasnt disappointed. Very nice tasting scone which was well made and not too heavy. The coffee was nice although it could have been a bit stronger for me.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank SSVG030905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Came here with family for coffee and a nibble. I had the fruit scone with jam and cream - good size and good scone. Jam came in a little mason jar and plenty of cream provided.
1x tea for 2, 2 coffees, 3x scones with jam & cream and 1x toasted teacake came to just under £20 so well priced. Staff friendly and light bright surroundings. Would return, a bit of usp is that its in the Abbey.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Jen32B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

What a lovely time we had with our friends at Hexham Abbey on the warmest day of the year so far. We sat in the garden because our friends have a dog and it was simply lovely. Delicious food, very helpful, friendly staff (who brought out water for Dottie the dog). A beautiful day spent creating a very happy memory. Just one tip to help staff find the correct table - would be a good idea to make wooden spoons with numbers on to give to out to customers when ordering so staff can easily find the right table.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Crazy_Cat_Lady112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refectory Cafe also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to The Refectory Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing