We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Coffee & Scone”
Review of The Refectory Cafe

The Refectory Cafe
Ranked #26 of 129 Restaurants in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Description: The Refectory Cafe is a hidden gem in the bustling market town of Hexham. Situated within the famous grounds of Hexham Abbey, the cafe caters for local and tourists alike, with everything cooked and prepared onsite using local suppliers. A wonderful outdoor seating area in the garden is available where visitors can basque in the view of the Abbey and the Sele park ground. In addition to our standard menu of soups, sandwiches, salads, scones and cakes, we serve a daily special menu and can cater for all kinds of dietary requests.
Restaurant details
Description: The Refectory Cafe is a hidden gem in the bustling market town of Hexham. Situated within the famous grounds of Hexham Abbey, the cafe caters for local and tourists alike, with everything cooked and prepared onsite using local suppliers. A wonderful outdoor seating area in the garden is available where visitors can basque in the view of the Abbey and the Sele park ground. In addition to our standard menu of soups, sandwiches, salads, scones and cakes, we serve a daily special menu and can cater for all kinds of dietary requests.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

Popped in for a latte and a cheese scone. Wasnt disappointed. Very nice tasting scone which was well made and not too heavy. The coffee was nice although it could have been a bit stronger for me.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank SSVG030905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 71 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

Came here with family for coffee and a nibble. I had the fruit scone with jam and cream - good size and good scone. Jam came in a little mason jar and plenty of cream provided.
1x tea for 2, 2 coffees, 3x scones with jam & cream and 1x toasted teacake came to just under £20 so well priced. Staff friendly and light bright surroundings. Would return, a bit of usp is that its in the Abbey.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Jen32B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

What a lovely time we had with our friends at Hexham Abbey on the warmest day of the year so far. We sat in the garden because our friends have a dog and it was simply lovely. Delicious food, very helpful, friendly staff (who brought out water for Dottie the dog). A beautiful day spent creating a very happy memory. Just one tip to help staff find the correct table - would be a good idea to make wooden spoons with numbers on to give to out to customers when ordering so staff can easily find the right table.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Crazy_Cat_Lady112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

We have been here many a time for a coffee and a cake but this was for morning.
We had OJ and a fresh granola pot and it was soooo tasty and healthy and filling.
It got me started for the day.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank gemmah707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019 via mobile

Visited this after a stroll around the wonderful abbey. It’s got a great cafe menu and really friendly staff. It’s a nice classic ambiance and comfortable seating. I would recommend The toasted tea cake. It’s fantastic. Recommend

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank pmorris99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Refectory Cafe also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to The Refectory Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing