We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great curries - fresh and original”
Review of Diwan E Am Tandoori Restaurant - CLOSED

Diwan E Am Tandoori Restaurant
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great curries - fresh and original”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We enjoyed a great meal here - the speciality dishes are fresh and individual, range of interesting breads and accompaniments too. Service excellent, smart interior. Recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank snowdropYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    29
    9
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“birthday meal”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went here for my birthday we got a table no bother even though it was a saturday night and we hadn't booked (maybe because it was february) the waiters were attentive and the food was good

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Monday night which turned out to be busy. Always receive a warm welcome by owner/manager and all of the staff. Been here may times since the original family returned to this restaurant and we can honestly say we have not had a bad meal, I would recommend the lamb rogan josh and it is a bonus you can actually get kingfisher on draught (no draught in competition over street).... Will be back soon

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jabba16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just moved into the area best indian ever had. No one can top it i challenge them personally”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We didn't book a table arrived in restaurant busy for a Wednesday the restaurant was buzzing with good atmosphere. We were seated to our table along with our drinks order. The waiters were REALLY helpful as we were spoilt for choice finally decided to go with murgh polak podina with pilau rice and a pesweri nan my other half had beef rang dang very unusual name but was very delightful went down perfect with a bottle of Pinot grigio. Overall brilliant restaurant going to make it my usual place for an indian they even open the door for us you don't get a better service then that along with the 20% discount on takeaway

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemmaandsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Two hours, fifteen minutes wait for stunning mediocrity”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The table had been booked well in advance and confirmation had been made on the day too. We arrived and sat down. No one took any orders for over an hour, curry finally arriving 7 mins after that. Sadly the rice and naan breads were another 15 mins after that, meaning that my mediocre and bland curry congealed and cooled. Were the staff apologetic? Verbally, they doffed a cap in the direction of sorrow, but they made no effort to hurry things along. Despite the fact that your current writer made it known that so hungry and thirsty that he was about to drink from the fish tank and gnaw through chair legs in search of sustenance, their only offer was a solitary poppadum. Clearly they didn't give a damn............Not to be recommended, not to be repeated- especially when the Inidan opposite offers superb food with impeccable service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank charlesandmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diwan E Am Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing