We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay despite the mix up” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Twice Brewed Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Twice Brewed Inn
Ranked #14 of 63 Hexham B&B and Inns
workington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A nice stay despite the mix up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night while on a weekend away incorporating some walking with shopping and a gig at the Newcastle Metro Arena. The room overlooking the main road was lovely, modern furnishings, warm, clean and comfortable. The evening meal in the restaurant was nice with decent sized portions, typical pub fayre. We were told at check in that breakfast was served from 8.30 to 9.30 so turned up at 9.15 to find the chef had finished and clearing away was in progress. However someone made us a cooked breakfast which was very nice but promptly cleared away the juices, etc so we felt we had to eat quickly and get out fast. We did feel a little aggrieved as this was not our fault and we were made to feel slightly unwelcome in the breakfast room.
Despite this, it was a lovely nights stay and we would use this Inn again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlook Hadrians Wall and the traffic was not a problem at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cumbriangrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    134
    87
    43
    24
See reviews for
81
148
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

WE spent a night at the Twice Brewed Inn with two friends in March 2013, on a Groupon deal. The Inn is set up for people who want accommodation convenient for walking on the Roman Wall. Both the rooms were lovely, with clean modern furnishings, comfy beds and a fantastic view. Both rooms were ensuite, ours a shower and our friends a bath. Both were fine with loads of hot water and a good power on the shower. Some rooms are not en suite so you should specify this when you book.
We had our evening meal in the pub and it was the usual pub fayre, good portions and service and the beer was excellent, with several types of real ale. it's a very friendly warm pub.

Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice and none of the stupid add-ons at a surcharge. We all had the full english which was lovely. I would be happy to recommend the Twice Brewed to anyone wanting a comfortable base in Northumberland. it is worth noting that the adjoining National Trust Info Centre is not open on weekdays during the winter.

Room Tip: Ask or a room at the back of the pub (away from the Road), ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindaoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Arriving for lunch on a cold spring day we were told that the empty bar couldn't accommodate our small, clean, well behaved dog and we'd have to eat in the beer garden. This was a grotty gravelled area with wet plastic chairs, busy with chilly dog owners shivering over their beer. A woman at a desk actually laughed at us as she gleefully pointed the way outside. The Twice Brewed Ale was a beautiful pint of beer, never got to taste the food. I should add that this place if very near to Hadrian's Wall, a Mecca for dog walkers. Shan't be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Keepthecork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hexham hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
uk
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stopped here yesterday for a light lunch. It was freezing cold outside but a lovely warm friendly cosy greeting when inside. A good selection of ales on offer and the wine was very good too. We each had a bowl of homemade soup which was very tasty and plentiful. The staff could not have been more helpful nothing was a bother. The hotel is in a very scenic location on the Military Road with many walks in close proximity.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauljaneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Had a family meal for 4 on a Saturday lunchtime and we were told we could not eat in the dining room; the hotel literature states differently. A pint of 4.4% ABV real ale was tasteless.

I had a cheese burger in a bun with chips and salad costing £7.55, very nice.

The other three diners chose chicken curry including chips/rice and naan bread. All three thought this was a good portioned dish but felt the meal was heavily spiced, and not medium as indicated by the staff. I had a taste of the curry and would not have been able to eat it. The staff asked if we enjoyed our meal, past tense, when they should have asked if we were enjoying our meal.

We would not return but the pub was busy with a local clientele; perhaps they are not bothered about passing trade on a winter Saturday afternoon?

Three stars may appear harsh but four stars would be too generous

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

A very old quaint pub with very friendly staff. The food is wonderful, we were told about the steak pie which we had, tasty and pastry top and bottom. we couldn't eat anything else after it. Room 1 is the only room with a bath, big room and you get fresh milk to make a drink. I have never come across that before. Hope to be back. Thank you staff.

Room Tip: If you want a bath, room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eunice38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a long days walk along Hadrian's Wall with the prospect of refreshment at the Twice Brewed Inn and a bed for the night to rest the aching limbs. The room was fine for the cost, the beer was most enjoyable and the food great.
Special thanks to the kindly chap behind the bar who lent me his laptop to view the rugby. If only England's performance had been as enjoyable. Cheers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisjacko2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hexham hotels
5.8 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
11.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
10.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Haydon Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
16.3 mi away
Slaley Hall
Slaley Hall
#1 of 1 in Slaley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
6.6 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Humshaugh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twice Brewed Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twice Brewed Inn

Property: The Twice Brewed Inn
Address: Bardon Mill, Hexham NE47 7AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Hexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Twice Brewed Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Twice Brewed Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twice Brewed Hotel Hexham
The Twice Brewed Inn Hexham, UK - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing