We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome hearth!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Twice Brewed Inn
Ranked #8 of 63 Hexham B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Having walked the wall earlier in the day in bitter conditions, the fire was a welcome respite! Staff were friendly and the ambience was great! The food wasn't fantastic but hit the spot! A nice place to rest after a hard day!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 512 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Pub, food, accommodation near the wall.
Very helpful staff.
Very good food.
Good beer. Free wifi.
Rooms were a bit dated.
Ideal for sycamore gap (about 30 mins walk away), vindolanda (5 min car journey away) and the wall in general.
Breakfast was good.
Great biscuits in room.
We had to use the communial shower which was absolutely fine, lots of hot water, no worries.

Room Tip: Try and get a back room, you can hear traffic in the front room. Room was a little overheated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martintheclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We only went for one night, but left wishing we had booked the week. We'll definitely be going back.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and everything was spotless. We had an evening meal, and the food completely exceeded our expectations. We're vegetarians, and not only did they provide an excellent selection of vegetarian dishes to choose from, but also the food was exciting and delicious, far from the usual run-of-the-mill risotto or cheese tart. Our room had a spectacular view over the fells, and they even provided a packed lunch for our walk on the Sunday.

They had a selection of around 97 bottles of rum. The coconut rum (not Malibu) was so nice, we polished off the bottle (well, the bottle was almost empty before we started).

Can't wait to go back, but for a proper holiday next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our visit was on a Groupon offer too, so proved good value for money. The staff were great, all very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The room was snug with good views over the fells. Loved the little touches that made the stay more special. The evening meal was lovely, wished I'd read the other reviews, I'd have had the steak pie but the slow cooked belly pork was equally as good! The Inn was very quiet so we got a good night's sleep and in the morning we had a substantial full English breakfast. Liked the way it was set out in the bar area with the gas log effect stove giving a warm atmosphere to the whole proceedings. Again, the girl serving breakfast did a fine job looking after us, and was really friendly too. All in all we had a great stay and would definitely visit again the next time we're in the area. Absolutely loved our visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingminstral10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was bought for us a Christmas present, the bar was cosy and had a good atmosphere , the food was good quality, the bar staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean, would definitely go back ! Relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasnchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is not the first time I have stayed at the twice brewed,and as always,it has proved to be a great experiance.As always the food was fantastic,using named,locally sourced produce.I cannot understand any negative comments regarding the staff,who without exception were superb.The bar staff warrant particular mention,their knowledge of their product was exceptional.The rooms were very comfortable and great value for money.I will continue to use this establishment as it has never failed and would thoroughly recommend it

Room Tip: Choose north facing room,fabulous views of hadrians wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Me and my fiancé stayed here on 1 Feb for one night - we got a Groupon as a Christmas gift.

Arrived at about 7pm as we had been at work all day, the staff were friendly and polite and had us checked in within a few minutes.

We were taken to our room and I was surprised at how nice it was. I don't know what I was expecting but it was better than what I thought it would be. Double bed, sofa, wardrobe, TV with freeview. Our room overlooked the beer garden and had a view of fields further on, quite pretty to look at the next day in the light. The bathroom was clean but could do with updating - the water pressure from the shower was poor but at least the water was hot!

We went to the bar area for food and both had the steak pie - it was one of the nicest things I have ever eaten! You got loads for your money and the pieces of steak just melted in your mouth, delicious! We didn't have to wait long for the food to come either, there were others in the bar but it wasn't busy.

We had breakfast and left early-ish the next morning and didn't go on any walks (it was more just to have a night away than to go out on walks). Breakfast was good, we had a full english, you didn't get loads but there was enough. They also put out a selection of cereal/tea/coffee that you can help yourself to.

We checked out and paid our tab (another good thing, you could just put everything on your room and pay when you left).

If you're looking for somewhere nice and quiet with what I understand to be a good location for Hadrians Wall then I'd recommend The Twice Brewed Inn. I know we will be going back, at least for the steak pie!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hexham
5.9 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,193 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
10.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Gilsland Hall Hotel
Gilsland Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
285 reviews
11.8 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#7 of 63 in Hexham
252 reviews
6.7 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Humshaugh
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twice Brewed Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twice Brewed Inn

Address: Bardon Mill | Bardon Mill, Hexham NE47 7AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Hexham
Price Range: $109 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Twice Brewed Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twice Brewed is set amongst some of the most breathtaking scenery in England and stands in the shadows of Steel Rigg, without doubt one of the most dramatic parts of Hadrian’s Wall. The Inn is situated on the B6318 (The Military Road) midway between Newcastle Upon Tyne in the East and Carlisle in the West and is close to all the main Roman sites – Vindolanda, Housesteads and The Roman Army Museum. The Inn is on the popular Pennine Way route and welcomes walkers with a drying room and other facilities. We are also on the Hadrians Cycleway (Route 72) and near the Sandstone Way cycle route. We are 4 miles away from Haltwhistle train station and 15 miles away from Hexham train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Twice Brewed Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twice Brewed Hotel Hexham
The Twice Brewed Inn Hexham, UK - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing