We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peace and quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hexham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kielder Caravan & Camping Site
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Just returned after spending 4 days at this site. It was absolutely fantastic! Clean and peaceful with lovely hot showers. Very relaxed atmosphere, we arrived at 11.30am and just pitched our tent and paid when shop opened in afternoon. There is a river running through site which our dog loved and pub was 5 minutes away. There is a small shop on site but Kielder Village shop is about 10 mins walk away for other items. There is a no noise policy after 10.30pm which suited us as we were up early in the mornings to go cycling We have stayed in Kielder a number of times, usually in lodges and this was our first time camping but we will certainly be back. Unlike previous reviews, we found staff very helpful and friendly.
Not too many midges at the moment but would recommend Avon soft and fresh spray to keep them at bay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jsimena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 169 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Me and 3 friends stayed 1 night here. The facilities were very clean and good. Had a very friendly vibe about the whole place. Would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swk1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I was really hopeful about this campsite, we booked fairly late and were pleased to get 4 pitches on a Bank Holiday weekend at late notice.

The booking was fairly smooth although a little in the dark ages (don’t accept cards – had to send a cheque for the deposit to someone’s home address). Checking in was fine and we had 4 pitches reserved in the same location, as I had requested, which was great.

However, due to the relentless rain the ground was very boggy and there were some areas already flooded. The pitch we took appeared fine but flooded over night, including our tent. Most of our electrical items were ruined, luckily we salvaged everything else and fortunately there was space for us in one of the other tents in our party. When I spoke to the woman in the office she said that this pitch had never flooded previously and began making very light of what was a stressful situation. I was later told by several regulars that the area of the site we were on floods every year and one couple even said they have photographs of ducks swimming on that very pitch. I appreciate the weather is out of the control of the site wardens however better management of the site in adverse weather is needed. I had to ask twice before we got the money for the pitch refunded. She seemed more concerned with making sure cars were parked with at least two wheels on the gravel drive and warning people that they’d be charged if they had to have their vehicles towed off the grass.

That aside, the site is in desperate need of some updating. There is a sign on the office building stating that all proceeds from the campsite are reinvested into the Kielder Community. This clearly doesn’t include the campsite itself. The toilet blocks were filthy (understandable during a wet weekend but they remained so for the duration of our stay), the showers were filthy and had no ventilation so had condensation mould all over the walls and ceiling, only 2 of the 3 pot wash sinks had running water and again were not kept clean (selfish campers but also a lack of attention from the people running the site), not to mention better/more effective land drains!

We’ve been camping for many years across many different campsites in the UK and I’m aware of the pitfalls of this pastime, however Kielder Campsite didn’t meet my expectations and next time I visit the area I’ll find alternative accommodation.

I don’t want to be completely negative about this site but it’s hard to find positives. The location is amazing, there is plenty to do for couples and families in and around Kielder. The scenery is stunning and on a clear evening the night sky is amazing. The Angler’s Arms is within walking distance of the campsite and the food and service is better than its shoddy exterior. There's a small park on the site which the kids loved. The site shop is open 8am until 11am and then closed until 4pm, although there is a shop in the village.

One final note about Kielder itself – the midges! Despite all the warnings, nothing could prepare me for the onslaught that no amount of repellent could resolve. Be prepared to be bitten!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank indigogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveWebb101, Manager at Kielder Caravan & Camping Site, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2015

I reply to this review as the new warden/manager and to update the reviewer's concerns.
Drainage work has been carried out on site, whilst we are never going to be bone dry £35,000 has been invested into groundworks.
We accept all major credit and debit cards. (Not American Express) and payments can be taken on site or over the phone.

If you read recent reviews you will find a more positve outlook from our customers.

Kind regards
Kielder Campsite Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Absolutely shocking customer service. Rude and abrupt and that was before we even got to the campsite! We booked a few months in advance and made the owners fully aware we were a group of thirty plus-year-old woman. This was fine with them as long as we abided by campsite rules which, as sensible and working professional women, we would of course do. When we were about to set off we telephoned to find out the postcode (their website does not provide this). We were then told they did not accept groups. We were somewhat dismayed to say the least since some of us had travelled from York, Manchester and London for the camping and walking trip. After several negotiations we were told that we could camp but we would be pitched next to the owners so they, (quote) “could keep an eye on us”. This was a complete insult. They treated us like a bunch of irresponsible teenagers. We decided to take our business where it was more welcome and luckily found an amazing campsite near Hadrians Wall – perfect for walking. I really do not think these two have a clue about running a campsite and certainly do not have any customer service skills what so ever. Avoid like this like the plague!

Room Tip: Do not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
14  Thank trippybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveWebb101, Manager at Kielder Caravan & Camping Site, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2015

We have been under new management since November 2013 and have a group booking policy on our website that has proved extremely successful. (The policy, we feel, covers all points)
For a more accurate appraisal of our site, read more recent reviews, taking the new management date into consideration.

Kind regards

Kielder Campsite Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We booked a caravan owned by the site several weeks ago. We were told we could check in any time of the day. We arrived today at 11.15 am fully equiped with food bedding and all the equipment needed.. It had taken most of yesterday to pack. On arrival the lodge was locked and the note on the door stated it would open at 4.00pm. I called the telephone no. on the lodge notice board and it was an answerphone. It was raining and cold and since we could not get into the caravan we had lunch at the castle and returned to the site, telephoned again and left another message.By 2.00pm we were cold and miserable so decided to return home (a second 2 hr drive).

I called the site again at 4.45 and was told by the lady warden that she was sorry it was all her fault and she thought we were coming on Thursday. I have no idea where she got this date from. She suggested we could have gone to the cafe in the Castle. I told her we had been there but could not stay there for four and a half hours.

In our opinion this is a very badly run site. No one available between 10.00am and 4.00pm either in person or by telephone. Avoid this place at all costs.

Mark and Joan

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gluggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveWebb101, Manager at Kielder Caravan & Camping Site, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2015

The site has been under new management since Nov. 13.
Check our latest reviews for a more accurate reflection from our visitors.

Kind regards

Kielder Campsite Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I was getting a bit worried about the place with some of the negative reviews and scare stories. Things didn't start well when I sent an e-mail enquiring about availability and had had no reply after ten days or so.

Reverted to telephone and despite wanting a caravan during the busy week [none available] was offered a pod "camping without a tent" instead. We were more than happy to take this and for £20 we were well pleased with the result.

Manager was happy and helpful. Location was fantastic. Pod was a revelation and they let us park there for the next day whilst we did the Lonesome Pine MTB trail - saving us £3 up the road.

Toilets were clean showers were hot - although they could do witha few more hooks for hanging stuff up whilst you're in there. Overall a top class experience and we WILL be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnefc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Hostile is the only word I can think of to describe the thug of a manager who runs this campsite. My friend had already been told when he phoned up to book that any drunken or rowdy behaviour would not be tolerated. We are a group of couples and friends, all around 30 and one of the couple's 12 year old daughter, so thought this would not be a problem.
While we were erecting the tents, the manager pulled up in his car shouting at us asking if we'd booked in. His manner was extremely aggressive and intimidating. A little while later, while we were sheltering from the rain in the tent, the managers wife approached us to reiterate her expectations of our behaviour adding "I wouldn't want to bar you from the site". By this point we were seriously considered packing up and leaving but as the sun had come out we decided to go for a walk. There is a castle and maze nearby and a pub, the Fishermans Arms to explore, though we didn't get any further. A huge downside in the evening was the swarm of midges, but that's part of being in Kielder.
We didn't see any more of the manager or his wife, but suspect the car that pulled alongside our tent and stayed there for a good 5 minutes at 11pm as we were settling down to go to sleep was him. Message received!
All in all we were made to feel thoroughly unwelcome by both managers and midges and will not be returning to this campsite ever.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark19800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveWebb101, Manager at Kielder Caravan & Camping Site, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2015

We have been under new managment since Nov. 13. For more accurate reflections of the campsite read our more recent reviews.

Kind regards

Kielder Campsite Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hexham
18.4 mi away
Herding Hill Farm
Herding Hill Farm
#1 of 11 in Haltwhistle
237 reviews
10.6 mi away
Border Forest Holiday Park
Border Forest Holiday Park
#1 of 3 in Otterburn
97 reviews
7.2 mi away
PoSHHuts
PoSHHuts
#1 of 1 in Falstone
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,178 reviews
25.0 mi away
Fairshaw Rigg
Fairshaw Rigg
#1 of 1 in Low Gate
254 reviews
23.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kielder Caravan & Camping Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kielder Caravan & Camping Site

Address: Kielder, Hexham NE48 1EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Hexham
Price Range: $6 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kielder Caravan & Camping Site 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a community run 3 star rustic campsite. Open views and a fantastic location to chill, explore or travel through. Showers, toilets, 42 electric hook ups, 20 hardstandings and room for 70 pitched tents. We are at the hub of the Kielder cycle trails, walking trails and at the northern tip of Kielder Reservoir. Local pub, shop and tearooms all a short walk from the site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kielder Caravan & Camping Site Hotel Hexham
Kielder Caravan And Camping Site
Kielder Caravan & Camping Site Hexham, UK - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing