We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ranters Chapel

Front door on Hallstile Bank
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front door on Hallstile Bank
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Front door on Hallstile Bank
Peaceful rear garden
Double bedroom with en-suite shower room
Top floor double
Top floor twin room
Lower ground floor wet room
En-suite shower room
Family bathroom, top floor
Hexham Abbey
Hadrian's Wall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
1 review
“Wonderful house”
Reviewed November 21, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We really enjoyed staying here. Its right in the heart of hexham and its a lovely house, we even arrived to a bottle of prosecco and a yummy cake! Thank you very much we hope to visit again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2017
Thank you! We're so pleased that you enjoyed it all and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LBED2010
London
2 reviews
“Great location, excellent standard, highly recommend!”
Reviewed November 12, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Ranter's Chapel has a great central location, all the tourist attractions and shops are a short (lovely!) walk away. This is the perfect accommodation for families and also couples travelling together. Comfortable and tasteful - everything is done up to a very high standard . The bedding and towels were extremely high quality! The treats on arrival were literally the icing on the cake :) We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return. Jo was a pleasure to communicate with and quickly responded to all my questions. Thank you very much!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2017
Thanks for a lovely review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriet S
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a treat”
Reviewed September 12, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We decided upon Hexham as the basis for our exploration of Hadrian's Wall and could not have found a better place to stay.
Perfectly positioned in the centre of this charming town, the house is beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, very well provided: welcoming treats from basics like milk tea etc to real surprise extras. Very good info about the house and the locality. Perfectly positioned for travel being very near station & buses and shops.
Helpful, very pleasant owner puts the icing on the cake. thank you from all of us

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acey28
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful house with great facilities”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location - out the front door and you are in the old town, and out the garden and you are at the shops and railway station ! The house is gorgeous and has plenty of space. All the renovations have been so well designed and we now have bathroom envy ! Jo even left us a cake and bubbly when we arrived. It was a lovely surprise.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you so much for such lovely feedback, we're so pleased that you enjoyed everything!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
skippy320
Reading, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay ”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had an excellent stay at Ranters for a week.
Centrally located short walk from Hexham town centre. A short walk from the abbey and opposite local Waitrose. Free parking in the car park accessible from the back gate.
Great for visiting the local sites of Hadrians wall e.g. Vindolanda and Housesteads, Corbridge and Birdoswalds.
Accommodation itself is comfortable. Nice mattresses. Blinds and curtains on all windows but did not quite block out all light so awake quite early most days.
Kitchen well equipped with coffee maker, dishwasher, microwave, fridge-freezer etc.
Lovely hostess left us cake, milk and prosecco for arrival.
Delightful garden with table and chairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrewpca...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing House and Great Place to Stay!”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Ranters Chapel proved to be everything and more for a fantastic and memorable Easter break with our family. A really well appointed house, intriguingly spread over three floors meant plenty of space but cosy at the same time. This combination proved ideal for our three children who, revelling in the luxury of the appointment and modern decor of the accommodation, afforded ample opportunity for them to have their own space but, at the same, a great space for coming together for family games and conversation! The convenience of Ranters Chapel in terms of parking, shops and proximity to the centre of Hexham (a wonderful small town) and also as a base for exploring the coast and countryside of Northumberland would be difficult to surpass. A special mention of the owner (Jo Greig) whom although we did not meet personally, could not have been more helpful and friendly throughout the booking and post holiday correspondence (yes, my youngest son left his Kindle which Jo kindly recovered and posted back to Bristol - thank you!).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing