We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Northumberland Holiday in Hexham”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ranters Chapel

Front door on Hallstile Bank
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front door on Hallstile Bank
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Front door on Hallstile Bank
Peaceful rear garden
Double bedroom with en-suite shower room
Top floor double
Top floor twin room
Lower ground floor wet room
En-suite shower room
Family bathroom, top floor
Hexham Abbey
Hadrian's Wall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicola J
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal Northumberland Holiday in Hexham”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Ranter's Chapel is situated centrally in Hexham, a delightful, bustling market town. The accommodation was spacious, warm and nicely decorated. We loved having a bathroom on each floor, the kitchen is lovely and well equipped. The bedrooms are very comfortable with plenty of storage space. We enjoyed the sitting room with patio doors overlooking the garden, we will have to return in summer to enjoy the garden too!
The thoughtful touches really make this visit feel special, flowers, cake and wine on arrival and it seems as if someone has thought of everything you might need.
We had no problems parking in the car park and enjoyed the accessability of the town but also the good walking routes are from the doorstep and there is plenty to do in the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of property and location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“stylish and central”
Reviewed November 10, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

lovely town house - very stylish decor - and many nice touches. so central to Hexham - brilliant would recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonRRBr...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable, convenient - Exactly as pictured above.”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A superbly comfortable place to stay. Spotless and superbly equipped. I was going to add my own photos but they are exactly as you see in the official ones above (which isn't always the case!).

The centre of town is a short walk up the hill (from front door) with all of its delightful shops, restaurants and cafes. A large Waitrose & leisure centre is a short walk across a car park at the rear of the property (although you can barely see this modern development as the trees in the beautiful garden keep the country feeling).

The warm welcome was most appreciated - couldn't fault the place, we will be back!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
232Barbar...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A superb house in a prime location.”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The property, located in a quiet street in the centre of the town, is within minutes walk of historic buildings, shops of all kinds (including supermarkets) and good restaurants. There is ample parking at the back, in the adjacent free car park.

Th house is spacious and extremely well appointed, with comfortable beds, power showers in each of its three bathrooms, and a very well equipped kitchen. TV, DVD and Wi-Fi all worked instantly, with no problems. Everything was ready for us, clean and fresh, and there was a welcome pack of provisions for breakfast - and for a holiday glass of wine (or two)!

The owners, whom we met, are friendly and caring - justifiably proud of their house. They live in another part of the town and are easily available to contact.. Their house book gives excellent advice on local restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central location, in a quiet street.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapsCH
Morges, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best accommodation we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

It pains me to write this review as I would love to keep this rental a secret so it's always available for our regular visits to Hexham, but it really deserves to be praised.
It's a beautiful, well appointed (and spotlessly clean) home from home, in a fantastic location. Everything, from the quality of the bedding to the water pressure in the showers was perfect. We spent over 2 weeks here and really didn't want to leave.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlfen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful home in extremely convenient location”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed here for a week in April 2014 and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The standard of the accommodation is very high, it is very well-equipped and the owners are incredibly helpful. Of all the holiday rentals we have stayed in, this is definitely one of the best. We would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to other people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing