We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch ”

The County Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 129 Restaurants in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Description: The County is a gem of a pub, just away from the historic centre of Hexham – recently voted Britains favourite market town! We are the perfect place for a post-work cocktail, a business brunch or a private party with friends. With food served all day, fresh barista coffee and free wifi, we’re also a popular venue whatever the occasion. So whenever in Hexham, be sure to come in and let our friendly team look after you. We look forward to seeing you soon! Once you’ve tried our delicious local food, ales and gins or our relaxed yet friendly hospitality, you won’t want to leave. Thanks to our 7 en-suite rooms, you won’t have to. Hexham is an ideal place to explore the local area, with features such as Hadrians Wall and Sycamore Gap popular throughout the year. The town itself is award winning, with lively markets and the magnificent abbey to wander round. The County is all about easy-going contentment – a tasteful, relaxed venue that hasn’t forgotten it is a pub at heart.
Restaurant details
Description: The County is a gem of a pub, just away from the historic centre of Hexham – recently voted Britains favourite market town! We are the perfect place for a post-work cocktail, a business brunch or a private party with friends. With food served all day, fresh barista coffee and free wifi, we’re also a popular venue whatever the occasion. So whenever in Hexham, be sure to come in and let our friendly team look after you. We look forward to seeing you soon! Once you’ve tried our delicious local food, ales and gins or our relaxed yet friendly hospitality, you won’t want to leave. Thanks to our 7 en-suite rooms, you won’t have to. Hexham is an ideal place to explore the local area, with features such as Hadrians Wall and Sycamore Gap popular throughout the year. The town itself is award winning, with lively markets and the magnificent abbey to wander round. The County is all about easy-going contentment – a tasteful, relaxed venue that hasn’t forgotten it is a pub at heart.
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

I have visited The County a few times since moving to the area a few weeks back and have always had a very enjoyable time. We booked for Sunday lunch and found the restaurant very very busy but the service was as always excellent. I now know why it was so busy as the food was superb and at extremely good value.
We have already booked again for next week and will continue to do so I'm sure.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank P1686RFpaulc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county2016, Manager at The County Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Thank you for this lovely review! I'm sure we will see you soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 200 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

Such lovely food was such a great meal, good quick service - staff really lovely we’re only here for a few days but would absolutely come back! Highly recommend

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county2016, Owner at The County Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Thanks for your lovely review.
We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

Stopped for a pre-dinner drink at this hotel. Really nice bar and friendly staff but we’ve been here loads of times and it’s always extremely slow service (? Very understaffed) so no good if you’re in a hurry. Cosy atmosphere and nice fusion of modern / traditional country decor and furnishings. Cocktail menu was good and enjoyed a wonderful Aperol Spritz. Can’t fault except one thing - why on earth are you still using plastic straws??

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Julia249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county2016, Owner at The County Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Hi, Julia249.
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
I'm sorry that you think our service is slow. To be honest that isn't something we hear very often but I appreciate the feedback. I will look at whether it is a particular time slot where the rota is a bit thin.
In relation to the straws - we are currently using a plant based straw not plastic ones.
They look & feel remarkable similar.
However we have been researching extensively as the claims of these plant based products are not all they seem to be. We are about to move to paper products after reassuring ourselves that they will not go soggy in your Aperol Spritz! We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for letting us have your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

Gone very much downhill with lunchtime specials at £4.95. Had to send back an inedible dish and little choices available. Very poor quality lasagne definitely not homemade. Will not eat there again.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank cus2mer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county2016, Owner at The County Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I'm sorry to hear that your visit was not as enjoyable as it should be.
You sent back the homemade Soup - A Vegetable Broth - as it had too many vegetables in it & we removed the cost from your bill.
The homemade Lasagna is the same recipe that we always use & we had compliments about it on the same day as you visited.
Perhaps we should have removed the cost of that too to ensure that you left happier than you did.
The Lunch Deal still offers a great choice of 8 main courses from £4.95 with the option to add a starter or a dessert for just £2 extra.
I'm sorry to hear that you won't be visiting us again.
I don't think you will find equivalent value or quality anywhere else locally.
I hope that time might change your mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

I visited the County with my husband and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of food for such a busy pub.
Everything was nicely presented and cooked to perfection. Great choice on the menu also. Will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank huntergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county2016, Manager at The County Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2019

Thank you for this wonderful review! we look forward to you coming back :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The County Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The County Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing