We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Eve lunch”

The County Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 128 Restaurants in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Description: The County is a gem of a pub, just away from the historic centre of Hexham – recently voted Britains favourite market town! We are the perfect place for a post-work cocktail, a business brunch or a private party with friends. With food served all day, fresh barista coffee and free wifi, we’re also a popular venue whatever the occasion. So whenever in Hexham, be sure to come in and let our friendly team look after you. We look forward to seeing you soon! Once you’ve tried our delicious local food, ales and gins or our relaxed yet friendly hospitality, you won’t want to leave. Thanks to our 7 en-suite rooms, you won’t have to. Hexham is an ideal place to explore the local area, with features such as Hadrians Wall and Sycamore Gap popular throughout the year. The town itself is award winning, with lively markets and the magnificent abbey to wander round. The County is all about easy-going contentment – a tasteful, relaxed venue that hasn’t forgotten it is a pub at heart.
Restaurant details
Description: The County is a gem of a pub, just away from the historic centre of Hexham – recently voted Britains favourite market town! We are the perfect place for a post-work cocktail, a business brunch or a private party with friends. With food served all day, fresh barista coffee and free wifi, we’re also a popular venue whatever the occasion. So whenever in Hexham, be sure to come in and let our friendly team look after you. We look forward to seeing you soon! Once you’ve tried our delicious local food, ales and gins or our relaxed yet friendly hospitality, you won’t want to leave. Thanks to our 7 en-suite rooms, you won’t have to. Hexham is an ideal place to explore the local area, with features such as Hadrians Wall and Sycamore Gap popular throughout the year. The town itself is award winning, with lively markets and the magnificent abbey to wander round. The County is all about easy-going contentment – a tasteful, relaxed venue that hasn’t forgotten it is a pub at heart.
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

How friendly is this venue? Lovely service on such a busy day.

Fabulous food. Great homemade chips, fab burgers and cheese sarnies around.

Clean and comfy and full of character.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Quinonostante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county2016, Manager at The County Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2019

Thank you for leaving this lovely review! Hopefully we will see you again sometime soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 195 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2018 via mobile

Presently in 150 pounds plus very nice room listening to absolutely huge amount of noise shouting music etc have phoned twice to complain -useless response, if you want a decent sleep and good customer service please go elsewhere. Yes it’s Boxing Day but its quarter past midnight and not a chance of getting to sleep. Cannot even hear tv for noise. Feel sorry for people with kids staying here. Would have better chance of a sleep at a dodgy Formule One. Please decide if you are are trying to be a boutique hotel or a pub where the drinkers rule - both are fine but you can’t do both the way you are doing it. Not fair. Still people yelling as I type at 12.22. Come on.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Bensmum31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2018

Go every week for Lunch. Menu is good and food last class. Staff very professional. Never had a bad meal yet. Can highly recommend this Hotel Restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank rhodesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county2016, Manager at The County Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2019

Thank you for this lovely review! Really glad we have become your regular place to come :) Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2018 via mobile

First class food and service. Staff were very helpful and added extras to my meal that I requested. I will definitely use this hotel again.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county2016, Manager at The County Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2018

Thank you for taking time to review us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you next time. All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2018

The Rotary Club of Tynedale meet every Wednesday lunch time for our enjoyable meetings. We have a good choice of food which is very good.
New members are welcome to join us.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 42JWMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county2016, Manager at The County Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2018

Thanks for leaving this review! We do enjoy having you for Lunch on Wednesday's :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The County Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The County Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing