We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food”

The County Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 128 Restaurants in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Description: The County is a gem of a pub, just away from the historic centre of Hexham – recently voted Britains favourite market town! We are the perfect place for a post-work cocktail, a business brunch or a private party with friends. With food served all day, fresh barista coffee and free wifi, we’re also a popular venue whatever the occasion. So whenever in Hexham, be sure to come in and let our friendly team look after you. We look forward to seeing you soon! Once you’ve tried our delicious local food, ales and gins or our relaxed yet friendly hospitality, you won’t want to leave. Thanks to our 7 en-suite rooms, you won’t have to. Hexham is an ideal place to explore the local area, with features such as Hadrians Wall and Sycamore Gap popular throughout the year. The town itself is award winning, with lively markets and the magnificent abbey to wander round. The County is all about easy-going contentment – a tasteful, relaxed venue that hasn’t forgotten it is a pub at heart.
Restaurant details
Description: The County is a gem of a pub, just away from the historic centre of Hexham – recently voted Britains favourite market town! We are the perfect place for a post-work cocktail, a business brunch or a private party with friends. With food served all day, fresh barista coffee and free wifi, we’re also a popular venue whatever the occasion. So whenever in Hexham, be sure to come in and let our friendly team look after you. We look forward to seeing you soon! Once you’ve tried our delicious local food, ales and gins or our relaxed yet friendly hospitality, you won’t want to leave. Thanks to our 7 en-suite rooms, you won’t have to. Hexham is an ideal place to explore the local area, with features such as Hadrians Wall and Sycamore Gap popular throughout the year. The town itself is award winning, with lively markets and the magnificent abbey to wander round. The County is all about easy-going contentment – a tasteful, relaxed venue that hasn’t forgotten it is a pub at heart.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

We called in for lunch. I had creamy tomato and spinach tagliatelle (£5.55) and my husband had the gammon (£5.55). Both from the lunch time menu where prices start from £4.95. My pasta was delicious and a very generous portion. The staff were polite and friendly and we got served fairly quickly. Well recommended.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county2016, Manager at The County Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Thank you for this lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed our Lunch menu and hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 195 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2018

Stayed here for 2 nights and ate in the restaurant for the first night. Fabulous food well presented and extremely tasty. We also had breakfast and this has to be one of the best breakfasts I have had in a hotel. Well done The County

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank kirstybrown94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county2016, Manager at The County Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Thank you for this wonderful review! We hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2018 via mobile

Staying in Hexham for the week popped down to check out Monday night veggie night. Firstly thank you for doing that. Had been finding choices a bit limited and a whole menu to choice from was a great. With 2 courses for £10 wasn't expecting much but it was great. Especially the falafel. Husband had choices off main menu which were also good. Best chips for far in the holiday :) Friendly staff and nice interior.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank E8255ILemmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county2016, Manager at The County Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review! Glad we pleasantly surprise you with our Meat Free Monday Menu :) Hopefully we will see you next time your in the area :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

We popped in for a drink and were met by great decor, helpful staff and stayed for the Northumberland platter - Which was spot. Really worth trying

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank BrianDavidMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county2016, Manager at The County Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2018

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are really glad you enjoyed your visit to us and hope we will see you again in the future :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Tried again Saturday 12 noon , not busy.
Wonderful decor,very comfortable, some staff
helpful.Chicken burger dry and tough. Sausage and mash
Very good .Fries dry and burnt at ends. lasagna good flavour
but burnt on the bottom. My be a one-off ,never asked have
food was, we had no time to reorder.
Told waitress at end of lunch.
No response ,paid in full disappointed, next time only
drinks, better places to eat in Hexham

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank FUR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The County Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The County Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing