We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Hallbank Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hallbank Guest House
Ranked #21 of 62 Hexham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastcote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hallbank is in a great location right in the middle of Hexham which is a lovely town. The room was comfortable and the shower excellent.

I felt it was expensive for a guest house, the price was on a par with the Best Western. There is obviously a need for more reasonably priced rooms in the town centre!

As other reviewers have mentioned, the owner is not always on site. We arrived mid afternoon on a Saturday. The door was open but no-one was around. We were able to contact Margaret by mobile and she told us where the room was so that was fine, but I wasn't completely happy with the set up.

Generous breakfast the next morning, cooked to order.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyBic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
27
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

What is good? The breakfast, the beds and some of the rooms.

What is not so good? The owner (Margaret) lives nine miles from the guest house and also has a day job, meaning she is very busy and only comes to the property when she needs to be. Also, if you book be careful when you arrive that you get what was agreed on booking. There is also a possible risk that ones bank account details would be compromised. More on that later in my review. Finally the housekeeping / room service was lack lustre.

Hexham is seriously short of Guest Houses and B&Bs within the town limits. There are more expensive Hotels such as the Best Western Beaumont Hotel (Ranked by TA as No.3 of 11 Hotels in Hexham). If I had my time again I would have paid the extra and stayed there. Isn’t hindsight a wonderful thing?

Our walking party of five booked well in advance, arriving on a Friday night at 4.30pm for a two night stay. There was no one at the guesthouse when we arrived and the door was locked. I had made it clear when booking what time we would arrive and what time we would like breakfast. There was a mobile number on a card fastened to the door so I rang it. The owner arrived at the property within ten minutes. Three of us were shown to our rooms, in what the owner called “The Cottage”. The booking had been for two double / twin en-suite rooms and one single en-suite room. After showing us to our rooms the owner left quickly to set up the beds for the other two members in our party. After she left we realised the rooms allocated to us were not ensuite, but had shared facilities accessible from the hall. There were no in-room tea making facilities and no flat screen TVs as stated on our booking. In addition the single room had no heating – the radiator thermostat was jammed. We knew this because my friend who was allocated that room is a plumber!

I went into the main house but the owner had left, so I telephoned her again stating that she had allocated us rooms that were not in accordance with our booking agreement. She said she would be back at the house in two minutes, and she was, in a rather stressed out state. On arrival there was no apology, instead she asked us to pack up all our stuff (which we had partly unpacked) and she would allocate us the rooms previously agreed. We followed the owner to two rooms adjacent to the front door, a double and a single. These were to a good standard, being warm and comfortable which we were pleased and relieved about.

The cooked breakfast both days was excellent with quality produce and was served at the time we had asked for. The two extra staff employed and the owner were courteous and we were well served with extra toast, milk, tea etc.

When we returned to the house on the Saturday after walking on Hadrian's Wall our bed and been made, but the beds in our friend's two other rooms hadn't. No tidying had been done in any of the rooms. My wife had left her slippers in the middle of the bedroom room in different places and these were exactly as she had left them earlier in the morning.

When I came to settle the £480 bill for our party the owner explained that a fishing party were staying that weekend and as she had to move us to the rooms previously agreed she had to accommodate them in “The Cottage”. As a result she had lost money by having to charge them less and had also compensated them by way of buying them a case of beer!

Finally, when leaving on the Sunday from the then unattended house, I noticed that the desk diary containing the guests booking details had in some cases their bank account numbers, sort codes etc written against the booking. These details were on public view.

Room Tip: I rated the rooms as poor on account of what we were first offered when we arrived which was not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkshirewalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed 1 night for a visit to Hexham General, minutes away from the hospital- with Margaret's directions.
Near to 24 hour Tesco and other shops if needed. Situated in the centre of Hexham but Hallbank is situated in a very quiet location of town, tucked away behind the town with some space to park cars.
The room was very cosy, nice and warm, quiet night sleep, comfy bed- pillows, duvet, excellent warm showers, very clean and beautifully decorated. I love the mirrors in the Jayne room, good proper hair dryer, delicious breakfast.
Will definitely come back. The building could do with an automatic external light- noticed when I checked in during a very dark autumn evening but apart from that my stay was exceptional, the best so far.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J28123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here this weekend for a friends wedding, absolutely fantastic guest house, slap bang in the middle of Hexham. The owners are very friendly and it felt like we were staying in someones house rather than a hotel/guest house. Breakfast was brilliant, cereals, and all the buffet stuff that you would expect, cooked breakfast cooked to order - just the thing required after one too many shandies! A much better experience than any of the brand name hotels i've stayed in. Many thanks for an enjoyable stay - i have a suspicion we may be back again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North-East England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for just one night to attend a festival in nearby Corbridge and so booked it last minute as Corbridge was full up. I couldn't be happier that it was. What a lovely, quality B&B, it far exceeded our expectations. The rooms were spacious and perfectly appointed with lovely character features. Excellent little touches like Molton Brown toiletries and working hairdryers irons and ironing boards are so rare to find these days. The host, Margaret, was warm, welcoming and approachable, a great conversationalist and oh so helpful. The breakfast was to die for, full cooked English breakfast and sensational sausages, freshly squeezed orange, proper coffee and home-made jam, plus cold meats, cheeses, cereal, fresh fruit and yoghurt. And all for only £80 per night. Would I go back? Too right in fact I've already made a booking for next month.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

If you are looking for a place from which to explore Hexham, as opposed to the Roman Wall, this is the place. Situated right behind the Old Jaol, it could not be more central and is ca. 50m. from the town centre, but with adequate parking. The hosts are very friendly, the breakfast very good, and the house itself seems lovely (we were unexpectedly in a comfortable adjoining cottage, so can't really comment). Comforatble beds and helpful local advice made for a very good stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelraterScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

stayed here 3 nights, good sized room, lovely and cosy, bed very comfy, crisp bedding. Margaret was very helpful (even offered to go to a chemist for me when I was ill after a meal at Danielle's restaurant) cooked fresh breakfast was lovely, made whatever you liked. Margaret recommended 2 proper restaurants which we went to and really enjoyed. would return here and would highly recommend, the hospitality was outstanding. keep up the good work, and thanks very much for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelleclare89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hexham hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
6.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
4.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#7 of 62 in Hexham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coach and Horses
Coach and Horses
#55 of 62 in Hexham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
5.8 mi away
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
Shaftoe's Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallbank Guest House

Property: Hallbank Guest House
Address: Hallgate, Hexham NE46 1XA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Hexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hallbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallbank Guest House Hexham, UK - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing