We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings about Hallbank Guest House.....”

Hallbank Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hallbank Guest House
Ranked #21 of 62 Hexham B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2012

What is good? The breakfast, the beds and some of the rooms.

What is not so good? The owner (Margaret) lives nine miles from the guest house and also has a day job, meaning she is very busy and only comes to the property when she needs to be. Also, if you book be careful when you arrive that you get what was agreed on booking. There is also a possible risk that ones bank account details would be compromised. More on that later in my review. Finally the housekeeping / room service was lack lustre.

Hexham is seriously short of Guest Houses and B&Bs within the town limits. There are more expensive Hotels such as the Best Western Beaumont Hotel (Ranked by TA as No.3 of 11 Hotels in Hexham). If I had my time again I would have paid the extra and stayed there. Isn’t hindsight a wonderful thing?

Our walking party of five booked well in advance, arriving on a Friday night at 4.30pm for a two night stay. There was no one at the guesthouse when we arrived and the door was locked. I had made it clear when booking what time we would arrive and what time we would like breakfast. There was a mobile number on a card fastened to the door so I rang it. The owner arrived at the property within ten minutes. Three of us were shown to our rooms, in what the owner called “The Cottage”. The booking had been for two double / twin en-suite rooms and one single en-suite room. After showing us to our rooms the owner left quickly to set up the beds for the other two members in our party. After she left we realised the rooms allocated to us were not ensuite, but had shared facilities accessible from the hall. There were no in-room tea making facilities and no flat screen TVs as stated on our booking. In addition the single room had no heating – the radiator thermostat was jammed. We knew this because my friend who was allocated that room is a plumber!

I went into the main house but the owner had left, so I telephoned her again stating that she had allocated us rooms that were not in accordance with our booking agreement. She said she would be back at the house in two minutes, and she was, in a rather stressed out state. On arrival there was no apology, instead she asked us to pack up all our stuff (which we had partly unpacked) and she would allocate us the rooms previously agreed. We followed the owner to two rooms adjacent to the front door, a double and a single. These were to a good standard, being warm and comfortable which we were pleased and relieved about.

The cooked breakfast both days was excellent with quality produce and was served at the time we had asked for. The two extra staff employed and the owner were courteous and we were well served with extra toast, milk, tea etc.

When we returned to the house on the Saturday after walking on Hadrian's Wall our bed and been made, but the beds in our friend's two other rooms hadn't. No tidying had been done in any of the rooms. My wife had left her slippers in the middle of the bedroom room in different places and these were exactly as she had left them earlier in the morning.

When I came to settle the £480 bill for our party the owner explained that a fishing party were staying that weekend and as she had to move us to the rooms previously agreed she had to accommodate them in “The Cottage”. As a result she had lost money by having to charge them less and had also compensated them by way of buying them a case of beer!

Finally, when leaving on the Sunday from the then unattended house, I noticed that the desk diary containing the guests booking details had in some cases their bank account numbers, sort codes etc written against the booking. These details were on public view.

Room Tip: I rated the rooms as poor on account of what we were first offered when we arrived which was not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorkshirewalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 71 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed 1 night for a visit to Hexham General, minutes away from the hospital- with Margaret's directions.
Near to 24 hour Tesco and other shops if needed. Situated in the centre of Hexham but Hallbank is situated in a very quiet location of town, tucked away behind the town with some space to park cars.
The room was very cosy, nice and warm, quiet night sleep, comfy bed- pillows, duvet, excellent warm showers, very clean and beautifully decorated. I love the mirrors in the Jayne room, good proper hair dryer, delicious breakfast.
Will definitely come back. The building could do with an automatic external light- noticed when I checked in during a very dark autumn evening but apart from that my stay was exceptional, the best so far.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J28123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here this weekend for a friends wedding, absolutely fantastic guest house, slap bang in the middle of Hexham. The owners are very friendly and it felt like we were staying in someones house rather than a hotel/guest house. Breakfast was brilliant, cereals, and all the buffet stuff that you would expect, cooked breakfast cooked to order - just the thing required after one too many shandies! A much better experience than any of the brand name hotels i've stayed in. Many thanks for an enjoyable stay - i have a suspicion we may be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurlyPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for just one night to attend a festival in nearby Corbridge and so booked it last minute as Corbridge was full up. I couldn't be happier that it was. What a lovely, quality B&B, it far exceeded our expectations. The rooms were spacious and perfectly appointed with lovely character features. Excellent little touches like Molton Brown toiletries and working hairdryers irons and ironing boards are so rare to find these days. The host, Margaret, was warm, welcoming and approachable, a great conversationalist and oh so helpful. The breakfast was to die for, full cooked English breakfast and sensational sausages, freshly squeezed orange, proper coffee and home-made jam, plus cold meats, cheeses, cereal, fresh fruit and yoghurt. And all for only £80 per night. Would I go back? Too right in fact I've already made a booking for next month.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

If you are looking for a place from which to explore Hexham, as opposed to the Roman Wall, this is the place. Situated right behind the Old Jaol, it could not be more central and is ca. 50m. from the town centre, but with adequate parking. The hosts are very friendly, the breakfast very good, and the house itself seems lovely (we were unexpectedly in a comfortable adjoining cottage, so can't really comment). Comforatble beds and helpful local advice made for a very good stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelraterScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

stayed here 3 nights, good sized room, lovely and cosy, bed very comfy, crisp bedding. Margaret was very helpful (even offered to go to a chemist for me when I was ill after a meal at Danielle's restaurant) cooked fresh breakfast was lovely, made whatever you liked. Margaret recommended 2 proper restaurants which we went to and really enjoyed. would return here and would highly recommend, the hospitality was outstanding. keep up the good work, and thanks very much for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelleclare89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed here April 2011 for 2 nights in the family room. We all slept wonderfully in a clean room with comfortable beds, not too soft and not too hard. The owners were nothing but wondeful. The place was very quiet when we were there but it may get a noisy during weekdays while filled with working people.

Hexham is a great jumping off point to see Hadrian's Wall with Tesco grocery store right there and all of high street just a short walk away. We'll be back in 2012.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnastaciaVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hexham hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
4.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
714 reviews
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#7 of 62 in Hexham
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Fairshaw Rigg
Fairshaw Rigg
#1 of 1 in Low Gate
254 reviews
6.9 mi away
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
Carraw Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 6 in Humshaugh
304 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Anchor
The Anchor
#6 of 7 in Haydon Bridge
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallbank Guest House

Address: Hallgate, Hexham NE46 1XA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Hexham
Price Range: $151 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hallbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallbank Guest House Hexham, UK - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing