We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Ancient Britain
from $122.34
More Info
from $38.63
More Info
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
72
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
72
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tour langley castle all ages kevin bushcraft tours knowledge sword northumberland armour celtic history sites wall shelter vindolanda introduction
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 74 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2019

A day's tour, full of history with some bracing walks and interesting stops. Kevin was excellent - his knowledge accumulated by reading and imparted in an engaging way, with or without Celtic gear on! A great host - thanks indeed.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Jerseybulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin r, Owner at Ancient Britain, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for a great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I spent the day with Kevin, of Wild Dog Outdoors, showing us Hadrian's Wall, Vindolandia and one of the larger wall forts. We had a great time. Lots of detailed knowledge, a lovely friendly easy manner and nicely paced. Very glad we did this tour..

Thank PlantChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21SaraR, Owner at Ancient Britain, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2019

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the tour.
Best wishes,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

We so enjoyed the day with this very knowledgeable guide, we could not fault him. He was so informative, accommodating and easy to be with, I wished we had had the children (either now or when they really were children) with us to enjoy this with us too. What a lovely introduction to Hadrian's Wall, and it helped make sense of other places we visited on subsequent days.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank MummyPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21SaraR, Owner at Ancient Britain, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2019

Thank you for a great review. It was a pleasure to see you on Hadrian's Wall.
Best wishes,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2019

Kevin and our driver met us at the train station, as we were arriving from Edinburgh that morning. We were driven through the countryside to each of the sites in a very comfortable van with about 6 other people. Throughout the drive Kevin offered many interesting notes and observations relevant to the terrain and the history we were about to explore. At each site, Kevin meticulously walked us through the history and details involved. The itinerary was well organized and efficient and we felt like we saw a ton of stuff for a day tour. Lunch was available at the excellent Vindolanda museum cafe, which was reasonably priced. Kevin was an outstanding host - extremely friendly and highly knowledgeable on the topics. He did a fantastic job of drawing us into the finer historical details, from armor types to strategic considerations of the forts. These details help you fully visualize and recreate the ancient world you are exploring. Overall this was one of the best day tours we have been on, anywhere.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin r, Owner at Ancient Britain, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Dear Ryan,
Thank you for a very kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and show you Hadrian's Wall.
Hope you had a great time in Scotland.
Happy travelling!
Best wishes,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019 via mobile

A fab day with Kevin at Langley Castle learning all things bushcraft - Kevin, the guide, was a ‘Geordie Ray Mears’ and so knowledgable. My 8 year old son and I were really engaged for the 5 hours + - great to get ‘off grid’ - recommended experience to anyone

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Hugopegcalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevin r, Owner at Ancient Britain, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Dear Hugo,
Hope you are keeping well.
I am delighted to hear that you both enjoyed the day.
We also offer bushcraft team building days.
Hope to see you again.
Best wishes,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews