We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place to visit”
Review of The Garden Station

The Garden Station
Ranked #13 of 33 things to do in Hexham
Attraction details
Newcastle, England
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great little place to visit”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

FREE TOO.... which is uncommon nowadays. The old station house museum is interesting. The old Waiting Room is converted to a cafe and there is a lovely walk on offer across the old Railway Line. History Lovers and Nature Lovers alike will love this. Go see it this weekend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Camos07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    9
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A magical place”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were there for a very special wedding - the Garden Station is a magical place. Tucked away up a leafy lane it was closed to the public for the wedding on the day we were there so perhaps we saw it in a different light from visitors on a normal day. But we loved it. We had a splendid vegetarian meal with choice of salads, the puddings, particularly the Eton mess, being heavenly. The garden was lush and full of llowers, there was an awning to shelter guests from one shower which left the garden green and glowing. Tables were set out on the lawn where the railway track must once have run before the station closed in the 1950s, and we could eat in the railway waiting room too. There is a little museum with pictures showing the history of the Station, and a small shop crammed with pretty china and gifts. We have the happiest memories of a special day at The Garden Station, but feel sure that it is a lovely place to visit on a day when it is open to the public.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank silvertraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A lovely place for a wedding!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I attended a wedding here recently and was very impressed by the venue and the staff - the cream scones were a big hit too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KateNE46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice I suppose but depends what you like.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Garden Station is rather unusual, and depending on what you like you'll either love it or regard it as I do with a level of indifference. As a cafe, it's not high on my favourites list. Coffee wasn't great and the rustic range of snacks found uninspiring. I also didn't care too much for the venue itself. This is subjective however and I know lots of people who love this place. Thing is, it's much more than just a cafe. It's a former station, and the cafe is effectively one of the platform buildings. There are walks along the old track bed, lots of nature around, and the business is also a venue for courses and walks. In glorious weather (what's that?) I am sure this would be a nice and peaceful place to visit. In our miserable climate you'd be lucky to take advantage of the attractive platform seats etc. Parking is tricky too but there isn't really any other way to get there. I am sure there will be a lot of contradictory reviews to mine, and they will be quite justified - i can see why people might like the it here - but it's not for me.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hedgehog344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Station also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to The Garden Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing