We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hexham”
Review of Hexham Abbey

Hexham Abbey
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This former medieval abbey was built late in the 7th century.
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“hexham”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

a fantastic place to visit - great architecture and lots of history on show which is nice to see and the abbey is still being well used and loved

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    205
    21
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A lovely, interesting historic building. Well worth a look around. Sorry we were not around at the times when the crypt is open, will have to make sure we return some time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tylersplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustique
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“A venerable sight to behold.”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hexham Abbey is a truly magnificent building, both in spirit and in architectural style. Since the 7th Century A.D. there has been a church on the site where the Abbey now stands. The building we see today is from the period of around 1200 A.D. and represents the Early English style of architecture. The Abbey has numerous noteworthy features, and rather than simply list them here, I suggest you take the time to visit and experience for yourself, this fine example of English Heritage. You will not be disappointed. Open daily, there is no charge for admission, there is a donation box.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank iwritetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was one of the best I have visited and I have been to quite a few. Wonderful features and lots of history and no admission charge of £12 like there is is many of the big city Abbeys and Cathedrals. Not to be missed in my opinion.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Seshenviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great tour”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

we were lucky to have a guided tour around Hexham Abbey over the Christmas period. what a fantastic building. My sister is getting married here next year so I cant wait to see it when a ceremony is in process.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hexham Abbey also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Hexham Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing