We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Vindolanda
from $54.64
More Info
from $683.01
More Info
Reviews (2,078)
Filter reviews
2,078 results
Traveler rating
1,638
366
42
9
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,638
366
42
9
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman army museum hadrian's wall archaeological site roman shoes wooden tablets well worth a visit guided tour taking place archaeological dig excellent museum large area on display joint ticket amazing site roman remains coffee shop roman times
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,078 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We walked around the amazing Roman Fort and bought the guide book which was well worth. It absolutely fascinating, especially the specifically made wooden wall fort. The visitors centre is set in a wonderful woodland area, set down by a bubbling brook, totally idyllic. I could have spent a lot longer there. The staff were extremely helpful and happy and the exhibition was very good indeed. We really loved it and thought it was all done very well.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Glynis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Since last visiting this site it has expanded dramatically and is probably the best Site close to Hadrians Wall. The museum is a fairly long walk from the entrance and down a steep hill but it is well worth the effort as the artefacts are stunning and give a real insight to live in Roman Britain. You can take a car down to drop off but no parking is allowed. The site dig could last for anther 200 years so there will always be something new to see if you return.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank oakwoodclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a wonderful place to learn about the Romans especially as the digging at the site is still going on and you learn so much from the people actually digging and you can ask them anything and they're happy to oblige even if it is because they need a rest! Loved it! Staff are friendly and it rubs off on the visitors, everyone is friendly there and we met some really lovely people too! Yes, the access road is small and narrow but if you take your time its not a problem although if you cant walk very well you may need to be dropped off at the bottom and get them to come and collect you after the visit as the road from the car park is very steep but there is another car park over the other side less steep!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank BALincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I wanted to see Hadrian’s wall but went to the wrong place. However the site was fabulous and seeing archaeology in progress was an added bonus. An amazing site so much to see and learn. I’d like to go back next year to see what has happened!
Highly recommended

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Nbaker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our second visit here and once again really enjoyed it. Still lots to see and this time there was a dig. Lots of people finding articles, must be fantastic to find anything really, you can see lots of items that have been dug up, all clean and in show cases.
My husband uses a mobility scooter and it was easy to get around. For the museum we were allowed to take the car, a big help for us.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank yorkshirerose1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews