We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vindolanda

Vindolanda
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit Roman Vindolanda today and you will find one of the North East’s most famous and not to be missed tourist attractions lying in the beautiful landscape of Hadrian's Wall Country. Formerly a key military post on the northern frontier of Britain, Vindolanda is the home of Britain's 'Top Treasure' - the Vindolanda Writing Tablets - and is one Europe's most important Roman archeological sites, with live excavations taking place every year. The recently fully refurbished on site museum provides a breathtaking exploration of the Trust's ongoing discoveries and accounts of Roman life. There are no other places on earth where it is possible to experience Roman Britain, Hadrian's Wall and history coming to life before your very eyes all in one space! Come and explore it for yourself and find out why Vindolanda is treasured worldwide.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have been here twice now. The first time I went with my boyfriend and was so cold we missed most of it. The second time we took my father and were really glad we took the time to see it all. The admission price gets you entry to the roman museum nearby which was fab. There are people dressed as Romans who talk you through the site if you want to join them. The museum is located down a path at the back of the site. It would have made more sense to see this first but it isn't terribly well signposted. Once you find this area, it's fabulous and there is a lot to see and read about. It's a shame there isn't more of the site left but we were told local farmers had stolen a lot of the stones in last few decades. If you are interested in the Romans it'll be a firm favourite. It does get very windy, even in summer so make sure you take a coat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank loubylou2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,071
    246
    28
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Complete eye opener !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have only recently become interested in the Roman life and after much hastle agreed to go to Vindolanda for a visit. Located right in the middle of Hadrians Wall, the sheer size of the excavation blew me away. We went in March which was a bad idea. Cold, snowy and quiet....did I say COLD ? haha

The Museum / Visitor centre was brilliant !!! A very interesting couple of hours !!!!!

NOT FOR THE FAINT HEARTED AS IT IS A LONG HILLY WALK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire_Blade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Pit stop on way to Hadrian's Wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Myself, Fiance and another couple stopped here to explore on our way to walking along Hadrian's Wall.
The site was easy to find (signposted through windy roads- remember to beep your horn when coming to a sharp bend!!)

The information centre was nice and the staff were friendly and informative.
We joined a guided tour of the site which was very informative and lasted approximately 45 minutes.
There is nice scenery next to the Museum, a replica 'bath house' and a nice river with seating overlooking it.

The Museum itself is well stocked and very informative and easy to navigate round.

Overall a nice pit stop! We stayed approximately 2 hours. We then drove to Housesteads which is up the road (about 2 mile). We walked along Hadrian's Wall to Sycamore Gap from there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mackemCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fascinating exhibition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Seemed a little pricey - but an amazing high quality and very informative exhibition (at the far end of the site) with cafe and good food. Would recommend avoiding school days if you can - minions of small people rushing around buying plastic swords and shields!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lightchaser62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Although quite an expensive day out and weather a bit cold we all enjoyed our day here. Ages ranged from 3 to 60. Lovely to see the roman ruins and thought the exhibits were all very well explained. Liked the interactive displays around the site. The museum was very interesting and could have easily spent longer reading all the detail on exhibits.
Shop was well laid out and some reasonable priced items for the children to afford a memento of their day here.
Had a snack in the restaurant. Nice, not to badly priced and polite friendly staff. all in all would recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeanscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vindolanda also viewed

 
Northumberland, England
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Vindolanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing