We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the friendly atmosphere”
Review of Golden Dragon

Golden Dragon
Ranked #39 of 110 Restaurants in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In the town centre, Hexham
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Go for the friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

It isn't the best food I've had it's true but it's consistent fairly old fashioned but definitely very edible. Reasonable prices and friendly staff keep this place busy and the food fresh.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank edinburghandglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    38
    11
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good because we were hungry?”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We moved house on this day and having driven past it on the way in to Hexham thought we'd give it a try.. Food portions were very small. The fried rice was tasty, and the noodles weren't bad. The crispy shredded beef was anything but crispy - just very very soggy!! We were so very very hungry so the meal may have been better than it was, but think we'll give it a miss from now on!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tangs2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lack of seasoning”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We went here for a family meal but unfortunately the flavours were lacking. The satay beef had no seasoning on it what so ever, the peanut sauce was lacking peanuts and very gluppy! There seemed to be a lot of diluting of seasoning and then thickening with cornflour.
The best dish was sizzling chicken and cashew also the plain noodles.
The staff were very good.
More attention to tasting their food and adding more seasoning and this could be a lovely restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“romantic meal”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The service was very good the staff were very attentive and polite, such a shame we could not say the same for the food it really was not so good in fact we were very disappointed . My colleagues at work go their and say it is ok maybe its just not to our taste maybe try again in the future.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandiebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best chinese food in the North east”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Will and the staff are brilliant, so friendly, and there food is the best Chinese food in the North East. Worth every penny.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sylv186351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Dragon also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
 
Corbridge, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Golden Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing