We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on lunch in the sunny courtyard and it's licensed too!!!”
Review of ...In The Chare - CLOSED

...In The Chare
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spot on lunch in the sunny courtyard and it's licensed too!!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful boozy lunch in the courtyard 8th September. The bacon and Brie sandwich and the New Yorker were our weapons of choice and a few peronis. Fab with a tan top up as well, couldn't beat it. Small loos though take a bit of negotiating after a few beers lol!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gazandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lunch in the rain”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Six of us piled hopefully in to escape from the August rain, only to find that there was no romm --but we were not turned away. Very soon, furniture was jiggled about, and we sat down gratefully. We had soup and sanwiches. Everything was fresh and tasty. The service couldn't have been better --so friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vollyjudith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good spot for lunch”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and one year old son had lunch in the courtyard of this cafe. The young ladies serving were very friendly and attentive. We sat at a table that had plates on it but it was quickly cleared and cleaned. I had a special salad (lime and coriander chicken) and my wife ordered the soup (pea and mint) and a sandwich lunch deal - both at approx £6 each We had a glass of wine each which added another near £7 to the bill. The food got mixed up a little due to the cafe running out of ingredients for my wife's sandwich and then sending a wrap out for me instead of the salad. However, this was quickly sorted and the quality of the food was good - my chicken was fresh, as was the salad (but it could have done with a variety of lettuce) . My wife's soup and sandwich were lovely. The wine was good and it didn't rain. The courtyard was a great spot but I think we would have been equally happy inside as it looked nice there too. We would go again in spite of the slight mix up with the order.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarsdenRattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
500 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome and very good coffee.”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This has to be a place of choice for all those footsore walkers coming down from the nearby Hadrian's Wall to visit Hexham and its Abbey. The staff offer a warm and generous welcome as well as making great coffee and cakes to boot.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Stewed coffee and stale cake”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Had a coffee and a price of cake with my wife in May.
The service was slow and not very friendly
My wife's coffee was cold and mine was bitter.the cake was dry and stale.....Never again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ...In The Chare also viewed

 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing