We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service ”

The Heart of Northumberland
Ranked #9 of 130 Restaurants in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: A contemporary update of the great British pub in a stunning, grade II listed building in the heart of the historic market town of Hexham, Northumberland. We specialise in doing things right-entirely homemade food, both classics & seasonal creations, beautifully kept local cask ales, artisan coffee, friendly service, roaring log-burners & pretty much anything else you would want from a great local, independent pub.
Reviewed June 17, 2019 via mobile

Three of us popped in for a meal while travelling through Hexham and we were very glad we did. The place was busy (always a good sign) and everyone seemed to be enjoying the atmosphere. Staff were great, with good knowledge of the local beers, and table service was good too. We all really enjoyed the food. I’d recommend this place!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank john-k-0632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 335 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2019 via mobile

Ive started a TripAdvisor account just to write this review. We popped in on Saturday night my wife and our two friends, what a lovely evening we had. Food was beautiful, excellent wine, beer was the correct temperature and the northern alchemy beers were great and kept very well. We were looked after by Jamie most of the evening, he kept our glasses full and smiles on our faces & we love how much he loves beer, dare I say he is the best bartender in Northumberland? Well done folks, keep up the good work. And thank you Jamie for the hangover.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Davies1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019 via mobile

Always AMAZING food using local produce. Excellent deco & a really nice atmosphere too :). Perfect for lunch or dinner!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank corbridgenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019 via mobile

I was so impressed here the choice and quality of the food was great and the welcome was warm and friendly.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Viv C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019

Had a brilliant lunch here and sat and watched the tables fill up in no time - this is a justifiably popular lunch spot: the service is fantastic, amongst the best in any pub we've been in, and the food options are great and very well priced. Be prepared for large portions! After such a good mid week lunch, we booked for Sunday lunch and decided on 11.30 and the staff advised a good time to pick. We could soon see why. Every table except two was prebooked, and ours again for later when we had eaten as well. We had the pork with crackling, and OMG - at last a chef who knows how to make crackling. The meal was huge, the quality brilliant, the staff so friendly again and we look forward to a chance to return again when in the area in the future.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cannicUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Heart of Northumberland also viewed

 
Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to The Heart of Northumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing