We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely coffee house”

Mrs Miggins Tea Room
Ranked #5 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Belper
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely coffee house”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We had two bowls of very nice homemade soup, followed by tea with scones and cream and jam. Friendly staff, could recommend

Helpful?
1 Thank darrenvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delightful and charming”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

When in Hexham we always make sure we visit Mrs Miggins. The meals are well prepared and enjoyable. The cakes are always a bit naughty, but very nice. Take a break, treat yourself.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely cakes!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A very friendly coffee shop with a good range of light meals and cakes on offer at the heart of Hexham.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KateNE46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely breakfast”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were travelling from Edinburgh back to the Midlands, after having spent a night in Newcastle. We were on the look-out for somewhere to eat breakfast. We stopped off at Hexham and noticed Mrs Miggin's Coffee House. Although there was a larger coffee shop on the corner, Mrs Miggin's looked more to our taste. We were not disappointed. My husband ordered a breakfast, and I had a bacon bap. Both were delicious. We had a nice chat to the owner whilst we were being served. I purchased a bracelet which was from a selection on sale. It was an enjoyable breakfast which we'd been looking forward to. There were cakes and other items on display. We had a little browse round the town before we set off on our way back home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellagio080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely staff but lacking atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I've been here several times with family just for a quick bite to eat, and it is a 'nice cafe.' There's not much more to say; it is not stylish or fancy and the food is fairly average. I usually just have soup which I don't think is homemade (a bit of a shame) with a roll.

I did, one time, have a Cumberland sausage sandwich which really was lovely. The portion sizes are ample and it is also good value for money. The women who work there are great but I just think the whole place looks a bit tired, it could do with a bit more attention to detail.

However, I would recommend it to people if they just want a quick and cheap lunch, or cup of tea.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank northumbrianrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
migginshexham, Owner at Mrs Miggins Tea Room, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and you recommendation. We appreciate all comments and suggestions made to us, however I must just point out that our soup is definitely home made! ( As are our scones and cakes)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs Miggins Tea Room also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to Mrs Miggins Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing