We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant stay”
Review of The Sun Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sun Inn
Ranked #54 of 62 Hexham B&B and Inns
sunderland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“brilliant stay”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

we stayed at the sun inn last night 5th oct 2013 and all I can say is that we had a fantastic time
we were shown to our rooms straight away and we were well impressed nice furnishings nice soft bed and a spotless on suite room 4 brian and Lorraine are excellent hosts they couldn't do enough for us we were to late for food but it was no bother we just ate out
we had a great night out in hexham then back to the sun in for a good nights sleep
the full English breakfast was to die for we had the choice of 8 cereals, fresh coffee , tea and real fresh orange,the breakfast consisted of bacon ,sausage mushrooms tomatoes and hash browns and toast it set us up for the day
we would recommend the sun in to anyone

Room Tip: we had 3 rooms between us room 2 and room 4 were on suite room 2 was not but there is a bathroom dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
4
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We arrived on Sunday afternoon and went into the pub. Asked the guy behind the bar about our room and we were taken straight to it. The room was large with a large en suite and was light and airy. We went out to Hexham to have a meal as we were meeting some friends there and returned to the pub early evening. We stayed in the bar til late and were made very welcome.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Check in and out was easy.
The bed was comfy with crisp clean white linen. For an overnight stay - who could ask for more??
I will stay there again when I venture back 'up North' to visit family and friends.

Room Tip: Room 4 was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I spent one night at the Sun Inn to break the drive home after a month in Scotland. The only parking is on the Main Street of this small village outside the Inn. Normally I would not have worried, but my hatchback car's backseat was down and the rear was full of luggage and household stuff which I did not want to unload and carry upstairs. As my belongings were in full view of passers-by, I was concerned about the safety of the car's contents overnight. The barman who checked me in, offered reassurance and kindly offered to lend me a spare sheet to cover my belongings. All was well in the morning.
The Inn does not serve food in the evenings any more. It is mainly a pub - with sports TVs - and with the few rooms above, they only do B&B now, leaving the other 2 pubs in the village to offer food. I ate at the Miners Arms, 50 metres up the street, which was busy with a party barbeque, but I was grateful to the landlord there for fitting me in; the food was typical pub fare.
My room was No. 3 which a fair size twin room with a good sized en-suite. All the usual necessities were there. It was clean, but the decor is in need of refreshing, especially new carpet. The bed was comfortable with crisp clean linens and I would have slept well except for pair of rowdy revelers returning at 2 am. However I can't complain as it was Saturday night of a bank holiday weekend and they sounded like they had been partying.
The breakfast was OK - nothing special, well cooked, but not much choice and only white toast. I met the landlady who was pleasant and chatty.
All in all, I was grateful to find a room at the Sun Inn at short notice on a busy bank holiday weekend, I have no complaints, but I won't rush to return or recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonwontutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

arrived at 5.30pm on saturday afternoon,staff were not aware of our booking. landlady was out. we enquired about food and were told service would be about 6.30pm when landlady returned therefor we decided to go elseware to eat, returned at 7.30pm to check into our room ordered a drink at the bar and asked for our room keys just as well we had eaten elseware as there was no sign of food when we asked a customer she said they only served food during the week and sunday lunches.waited in the bar area and repeatedly requested room keys.....we eventually were given the keys when the bar closed at 1.00am sunday morning. it gets worse.. out of date milk in room for hot drinks breakfast disgusting, anemic microwaved bacon,sour sausage then asked to leave by 10.00am

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hexham hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Arrived at 17:45 having travelled from Bridlington after a day's work, I walked into the bar which was the only door open. The guy behind the bar came over with a set of room keys and said "follow me" I said do you know who I am" He replied I was the only woman booked in.
I followed him through the lounge and into a corridor after passing about 10 men watching the England match, as we went through the corridor at the bottom of the stairs he pointed out that one of the keys fitted the door to the street and asked me to use that door to prevent coming in through the bar, at this stage he offered to carry one of my bags.
When we got to the room he opened the door and I asked him where I could eat? He said "try miners up the road they should still be serving" The room on first impression looked bright and there was a big bathroom.
As I had travelled so far I decided to go straight out to eat and unpack later. After I had eaten at the miners up the road which I would thoroughly recommend for any one wanting to eat in the area, on my return to the Sun Inn I tried both beds to see which was the best and it was then I saw the fluff around the wheels on the bed away from the window. It was thick and so fluffy you could see it had only been hoovered up to the edge, It was awful I ran my hand over it and you could gather it up as it was that thick.
There was a smell of sweaty bodies in the room and the carpet has so many stains on it you would not walk bare footed on it.
Breakfast was served in the lounge area and there appeared to be only one more guest a male and I was put next to him on a single table next to his table, we were so close we might have been sitting on the same table. There was many tables in the lounge set up for meals so why the close contact with a stranger I ask myself?
The breakfast was very well presented and the land lady friendly, But I couldn't wait to check out, that consisted of just handing my key back. I never signed any register and I do worry about Health & Safety or fire safety as no one had any details or asked for them.
I rang my company and said "next time I have to work in Hexham area please do not book me in at this place"
I felt very vulnerable as a woman on my own.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Our family day out ended with a glorious meal at The Sun Inn at Acomb. The home made food, which was not only delicious, but plentiful. We later sat in the beer garden, and being such a wonderful warm day, was just what was needed after such a fabulous meal.
The proprietor and i assume his wife were so pleasant.
We shall definitely be returning to The Sun Inn again.

The Smith Family

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERNIES308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hexham hotels
2.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
674 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coach and Horses
Coach and Horses
#57 of 62 in Hexham
20 reviews
1.5 mi away
Station Inn
Station Inn
#33 of 62 in Hexham
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tap & Spile B&B
Tap & Spile B&B
#59 of 62 in Hexham
30 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 3 in Newbrough
111 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hallbank Guest House
Hallbank Guest House
#19 of 62 in Hexham
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn

Property: The Sun Inn
Address: Main Street, Hexham NE46 4PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Hexham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Sun Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your The Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun Inn Hexham, UK - Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing